Pickett Named to Unitas Watch List

Aug. 27, 2003

Seattle - Washington senior quarterback Cody Pickett is one 26 quarterbacks announced Wednesday as candidates for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award. Pickett was the only quarterback on the list to throw for more than 4,000 yards last season. He set a Pac-10 single-season record with 4,458 passing yards. Central Florida's Ryan Schneider had the second most yards of the candidates with 3,770.

The award is presented annually to the nation's top college quarterback by the Frank Camp Chapter of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation.

The award is named for Hall of Fame quarterback Unitas, who played at Louisville before his 18-year NFL career with the Baltimore Colts. Unitas died Sept. 11, 2002, at 69.

The nominees were selected by a committee of football experts from across the United States. The committee will choose five finalists on Oct. 22. The winner will be announced during an award presentation in Louisville on Dec. 12.

Southern California quarterback Carson Palmer won the award last year.

Other candidates, who are judged upon citizenship, academics, leadership and athletic accomplishments, include:

Eli Manning, Mississippi; Craig Krenzel, Ohio State; Jared Lorenzen, Kentucky; Tate Bennett; Weber State; Casey Clausen, Tennessee; Ryan Dinwiddie, Boise State; Ryan Flanagan, Cal-Davis; Adam Hall, San Diego State; Josh Harris, Bowling Green State; Robert Kent, Jackson State; Asad Abdul Khaliq, Minnesota; Chris Lewis, Stanford; J.P. Losman, Tulane; Scott McBrien, Maryland; Luke McKown, Louisiana Tech; Jon Navarre, Michigan; Jason Fife, Oregon; Cody Pickett, Washington; Scott Rislov, San Jose State; Philip Rivers, North Carolina State; Ell Robertson, Kansas State; Rod Rutherford, Pittsburgh; Matt Schaub, Virginia; Ryan Schneider, Central Florida; Jim Sorgi, Wisconsin; and Bradlee Van Pelt, Colorado State.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network