Andrew Walter Named To Walter Camp Player Of The Year Watch List

Aug. 29, 2003

NEW HAVEN, Conn. -- The Walter Camp Football Foundation has announced the names of 42 'players to watch' for its prestigious Player of the Year award, the nation's fourth-oldest individual college football accolade. Arizona State junior quarterback Andrew Walter was one of the student-athletes named to the list.

Walter emerged as one of the top quarterbacks in the country last season and became the first 3,000-yard passer in ASU history. He is the third-best returning passer in the nation in terms of passing yards and is the only player in Pac-10 history to throw four 400-yard passing games in a season.

The watch list will be narrowed to ten semi-finalists in early November. The 2003 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 117 Division I-A head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced on the ESPN/Home Depot College Football Awards Show in December.

The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation's annual national awards banquet on February 14, 2004 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

Last year's recipient was Penn State running back Larry Johnson, who led the nation in rushing and all-purpose yardage and is currently a member of the Kansas City Chiefs.

Walter Camp, 'The Father of American football,' first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp, a former Yale University athlete and football coach, is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation, a New Haven-based all-volunteer group, was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

2003 Walter Camp Player of the Year 'Watch List'
Cedric Bensen, RB, Texas
Maurice Clarett, RB, Ohio State
Casey Claussen, QB, Tennessee
Karlos Dansby, LB, Auburn
Anthony Davis, RB, Wisconsin
Rod Davis, LB, Southern Mississippi
Larry Fitzgerald, WR, Pittsburgh
Chris Gamble, DB/WR/KR, Ohio State
Frank Gore, RB, Miami (Fla.)
David Green, QB, Georgia
DeAngelo Hall, DB/WR/KR, Virginia Tech
Claude Harriott, DE, Pittsburgh
Tommie Harris, DL, Oklahoma
Steven Jackson, RB, Oregon State
Greg Jones, RB, Florida State
Kevin Jones, RB, Virginia Tech
Teddy Lehman, LB, Oklahoma
Jared Lorenzen, QB, Kentucky
Eli Manning, QB, Mississippi
T.A. McLendon, RB, North Carolina State
Zack Mills, QB, Penn State
Mewelde Moore, RB, Tulane
John Navarre, QB, Michigan
Chris Perry, RB, Michigan
Cody Pickett, QB, Washington
David Pollack, DE, Georgia
Philip Rivers, QB, North Carolina State
Ell Roberson, QB, Kansas State
Ben Roethlisberger, Jr. Miami University
Matt Schaub, QB, Virginia
Stuart Schweigert, DB, Purdue
Brad Smith, QB, Missouri
Michael Turner, RB, Northern Illinois
Jonathan Vilma, LB, Miami (Fla.)
Andrew Walter, QB, Arizona State
Courtney Watson, LB, Notre Dame
Carnell Williams, RB, Auburn
Michael Williams, WR, USC
Roy Williams, WR, Texas
Reggie Williams, WR, Washington
Kellen Winslow, TE, Miami
Rashaun Woods, WR, Oklahoma State

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network