ASU Harriers Open 2003 Season With Impressive Showing in Tucson

Sept. 19, 2003

TEMPE, Ariz. - The 2003 cross country season got underway for the Arizona State Sun Devils Friday evening with Amy Hastings (So., Leavenworth, Kan.) leading the charge by winning the women's race at the Dave Murray Invitational, hosted by Arizona at Dell Urich Golf Course in Tucson. The women captured the Top 5 finishes in the non-scored event while another sophomore, Aaron Aguayo (So., Phoenix, Ariz.), placed second in the men's race as the Sun Devils finished second, third, fourth and fifth.

Hastings, the first woman to win a race for ASU since Lisa Aguilera captured the NCAA West Region crown in 2000, covered the 4,300m course in 15:02.83. Anna Masinelli (So., Scottsdale, Ariz.), Jessica Crate (Fr., Brights Grove, Ontario), Desiree Davila (Jr., Chula Vista, Calif.) and Amanda Lyon (So., Phoenix, Ariz.) rounded out the first five finishers in the meet. All 12 women on the roster competed in the meet and finished in the Top 18 of a 24-participant race.

On the men's side, Aguayo clocked a 19:31.16 in the 6,300m event as Arizona's Robert Cheseret claimed gold at 19:12.36. Behind Aguayo was Juan Reyes (Jr., Phoenix, Ariz.), J.J. Duke (Jr., Clovis, Calif.) and Roger Cahill (So., Glendale, Ariz.) to round out the Top 5. In all, 18 members of the men's roster competed either for ASU or as an unattached athlete in the race.

Next up for the Sun Devils will be a trip to Minneapolis, Minn., for the annual Roy Griak Invitational, Sept. 27. The meet will be hosted by Minnesota with the men leading off at noon in an 8,000m race and the women to follow at 1 p.m. in a 6,000m run.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network