Bruin Women Win Big Wave Invitational

Sept. 20, 2003

Honolulu, HI - This morning, at the third annual Big Wave Invitational, hosted by the University of Hawaii - Manoa and held at the Klipper Golf Course on the Kaneohe Marine Corps Base, the UCLA women's cross country squad was victorious. The Bruin women won the 4K race, scoring 26 points.

In the women's 4K race, the Bruins scored 26 points and defeated the pre-season No. 1 and defending NCAA Champion Brigham Young, which placed second with 45 points. Rounding out the top-five teams were San Diego State and the U.S. Naval Academy, which tied for third with 122 points, and Houston, which was fifth with 162 points. BYU's Michaela Manova, who placed fifth at the 2002 NCAA Championships, was the individual champion in 13:28.

The Bruin women were led by redshirt freshman Ashley Caldwell, who placed third in 13:54. Following Caldwell were sophomore Jenna Timinsky in fourth (13:56), true freshman Alison Costello in fifth (13:59) and seniorValerie Flores in sixth (14:06). Sophomore Sarah West placed eighth in 14:21, sophomore Allison Hall placed 11th in 14:29, senior Melissa McBain was 17th (14:43) and junior Carmen Winant finished 23rd in 14:53.

'The biggest story for us is our ability today to beat the pre-season No. 1 and defending national champion team. It is a significant benchmark for our program,' said head coach Eric Peterson. 'Although BYU was running without three of its top-five athletes, we were able to put five of our top runners in front of their No. 2 finisher today. It is a great tribute to the development and maturity of our team.

'Notably, Ashley Caldwell, a redshirt freshman, in only her second cross country race in a UCLA uniform, led the way with a blistering final 400m to go from our fourth runner to No. 1 and lead us to victory.'

Women's Team Results (Top-five of 11 teams)
1. UCLA 26 points
2. BYU 45 points
3. San Diego State, U.S. Naval Academy 122 points
5. Houston 162 points

Women's Individual Results (Top-five of 89)
1. Michaela Manova, BYU, 13:28
2. Chelsea Smith, BYU-Hawaii, 13:48
3. Ashley Caldwell, UCLA, 13:54
4. Jenna Timinsky, UCLA, 13:56
5. Alison Costello, UCLA, 13:59

UCLA Individually
3. Ashley Caldwell, 13:54
4. Jenna Timinsky, 13:56
5. Alison Costello, 13:59
6. Valerie Flores, 14:06
8. Sarah West, 14:21
11. Allison Hall, 14:29
17. Melissa McBain, 14:43
23. Carmen Winant, 14:53

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network