Cross Country Women Win Roy Griak Invitational; Men Place Fifth

Sept. 27, 2003

Results:Women | Men

TEMPE, Ariz. - The Arizona State cross country team traveled to the 18th Annual Roy Griak Invitational Saturday in Minneapolis, Minn., and returned to Tempe with another outstanding performance. The women, ranked No. 20 in the latest FinishLynx Top 30 rankings, won the team title with 103 points and placed higher than six other squads ranked above them in the polls, including No. 5 Providence and No. 6 Wake Forest. The men, who entered the weekend unranked, scored 188 points to finish fifth and defeat six nationally ranked foes.

The women were again led by Amy Hastings (So., Leavenworth, Kan.). After winning the Dave Murray Invitational a week ago, Hastings ran the Minneapolis course in 20:45 to finish in third. She was followed across the finish line by Anna Masinelli (So., Scottsdale, Ariz.), who finished seventh overall. Freshman Jessica Crate (Brights Grove, Ontario) captured 17th with Desiree Davila (Jr., Chula Vista, Calif.) and Amanda Lyon (So., Phoenix, Ariz.) rounding out the team scoring with 36th and 40th-place finishes, respectively.

The win marks for the third time in the 18 years of the meet that a Sun Devil squad has secured the women's team title. ASU also won the crown in 1997 and 2001. The Sun Devils also edged out defending champion Michigan State this year for the title.

Also competing for the women were Liz Lindgren (So., Klamath Falls, Ore.), 60th; Jessica Scalzo (So., Snoqualmie, Wash.), 78th; Corey Randall (Fr., Cincinnati, Ohio), 90th; Jenna Wrieden (So., Glendale, Ariz.), 95th; and Alvina Begay (Sr., Ganado, Ariz.), 160th.

On the men's side, Juan Reyes (Jr., Phoenix, Ariz.) led the charge with a 16th-place finish at 24:38. Aaron Aguayo (So., Phoenix, Ariz.) followed in at 22nd place while J.J. Duke (Jr., Clovis, Calif.), 38th, Roger Cahill (So., Glendale, Ariz.), 45th, and Kal Clark (Fr., Louisville, Ky.), 67th, rounding out the scoring.

Four other men competed with Ryan Warrenburg (So., Franklin, Ind.) leading the non-scorers with an 84th-place finish. Following him was Dan Maher (Sr., Tucson, Ariz.), 135th; Derek Pisel (So., Glendale, Ariz.), 174th; and Jeremy Cramer (Fr., Boise, Idaho), 186th.

Following a week off from competition, the Sun Devils return to action with the Arizona State Invitational Oct. 10 at Kiwanis Park in Tempe. The women will open the meet with a 5,000m race starting at 4:45 p.m. while the men's 8,000m run follows at 5:15 p.m.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network