Husky Golfers Host Edean Ihlanfeldt Invitational

Oct. 3, 2003

Seattle - The Washington women's golf team plays host to the 22nd annual Edean Ihlanfeldt Invitational Oct. 6-8 at the par-72, 5,953-yard Sahalee Country Club in Sammamish Wash. The 54-hole event is Washington's only home tournament of the 2003-2004 season.

The 15-team field for this year's event includes Arizona, Arizona State, BYU, California, Long Beach State, Nevada, Oregon, Oregon State, San Francisco, Southern California, Stanford, Washington, Washington State, UCLA and UNLV.

Last season USC won the event by 15 strokes over Washington. The Trojans shot 9-over 885 and where led by medalist Mikaela Parmild, who shot 5-under 214 at the Tacoma Country and Golf Club. Husky senior Louise Friberg finished seventh at 3-over 222. USC's team title marked the third consecutive time the Trojans have won the tournament.

The Ihlanfeldt Invitational will include a practice round on Sunday at noon. Monday and Wednesday's rounds will start at 8:30 a.m. Tuesday's second round will begin at 10:15 a.m. Live scoring of the event will be available at

The Edean Ihlanfeldt Invitational is named for the founder of the Washington women's golf program. One of the Pacific Northwest's most honored golfer, Ihlanfeldt started the UW program in 1974 before retiring seven years later in 1981. Ihlanfeldt never accepted payment for his work as the Huskies' coach. She donated her salary back into the program to fund scholarships.

The Huskies have never won the team title at the Ihlanfeldt Invitational, but two Washington players have turned in the best individual score. Nancy Kessler won the individual title in 1987 and Dodie Mazzuca, on the strength of a final-round score of 65, tied Stanford's Andrea Baxter for medalist honors in 1996. Mazzuca's 65 still stands as the lowest 18-hole score in the event's history.

Washington's lineup for this year's event includes freshmen Ashley Bickerton and Amber Prange, sophomore Sung Ea Lee, junior Paige Mackenzie and senior Lindsay Morgan. The tournament marks the return of Mackenzie to collegiate golf after being sidelined last year due to a back injury. Courtney McCracken and Amy Wang will compete as non-scoring players for Washington.

Edean Ihlanfeldt Invitational Information

Tournament History

Team Champions

Date                Team                ScoresMarch 23-25, 1981   UCLA                327-315-311-953March 23-25, 1982   San Jose State      316-314-318-948March 21-23, 1983   U.S. International  308-306-316-930March 19-21, 1984   USC                 325-324-316-965March 25-27, 1985   San Jose State      298-314-310-922March 24-26, 1986   USC                 323-306-305-934Oct. 13-15, 1986    USC                 306-299-307-912Oct. 12-14, 1987    Arizona             319-298-315-932Oct. 10-12, 1988    Arizona             305-305-304-914Oct. 16-18, 1989    Arizona             303-301-304-908Oct. 15-17, 1990    Stanford            306-311-311-928Oct. 14-16, 1991    Arizona             292-293-314-899Oct. 12-14, 1992    San Jose State      304-307-304-915Oct. 11-13, 1993    San Jose State      298-297-301-896Oct. 10-12, 1994    Stanford            298-297-301-896Oct. 9-12, 1995     San Jose State      288-300-rn-588Oct. 7-9, 1996      Stanford            301-289-295-885Oct. 13-15, 1997    Tulsa               289-298-294-881Oct. 11-13,1999     USC                 293-291-294-878Oct. 9-11, 2000     USC                 292-307-297--8962001 -- No EventOct. 6-8, 2002      USC                 292-301-292-885

Team Low Scores

18 holes   288   San Jose State, first round, 199536 holes   584   USC, first two rounds, (293-291), 199954 holes   881   USC, (293-291-294), 1999

Individual Champions

Date               Player             Team        ScoresMarch 23-25, 1981  Kelli Antolock     BYU         76-74-75-225March 23-25, 1982  Juli Inkster       SJSU        74-75-73-222March 21-23, 1983  Pip Barry          USIU        74-73-77-224March 19-21, 1984  Kim Lasken         USC         74-81-80-235March 25-27, 1985  Julie Ralls        SJSU        72-74-78-224March 24-26, 1986  Flori Prono        USC         81-71-74-226Oct. 13-15, 1986   Tracy Nakamura     USC         72-74-76-222Oct. 12-14, 1987   Nancy Kessler      Washington  70-79-79-228Oct. 10-12, 1988   Kathryn Imrie      Arizona     76-74-71-221Oct. 16-18, 1989   Martina Koch       Arizona     75-74-71-220Oct. 15-17, 1990   Andrey Wooding     Stanford    73-76-77-226Oct. 14-16, 1991   Annika Sorenstam   Arizona     70-67-74-211Oct. 12-14, 1992   Tracy Hanson       SJSU        72-73-71-216Oct. 11-13, 1993   Janice Moodit      SJSU        73-72-71-216Oct. 10-12, 1994   Mhairi McKay       Stanford    73-73-75-221Oct. 9-12, 1995    Vibeke Stensrud    SJSU        70-73-rn-143Oct. 7-9, 1996     Dodie Mazzuca      Washington  74-74-65-213                   Andrea Baxter      Stanford    76-69-68-213Oct. 13-15, 1997   Christina Kuld     Tulsa       70-69-72-211Oct. 11-13, 1999   Tamie Durdin       Pepperdine  69-71-68-208Oct. 9-11, 2000    Stephanie Keever   Stanford    70-72-74-216                   Stacy Prammanasudh Tulsa       71-73-72-216Oct. 6-8, 2002     Mikaela Parmlid    USC         74-72-68-214

Individual Low Scores

18 holes    65   Dodie Mazzuca, Washington, third round, 1996            65   Becky Lucidi, USC, first round, 200236 holes   137   Annika Sorenstam, Arizona, (70-67), 199154 holes   208   Tamie Durdin, Pepperdine, (69-71-68), 1999
Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network