Derek Rose & Sharon Olson Win Oktoberfest Swimming Crowns

Oct. 4, 2003

SEATTLE, Wash. -- Washington senior Derek Rose earned male top honors at the Huskies' annual season-opening Oktoberfest swim meet this afternoon, while sophomore Sharon Olson won the women's title for the second consecutive year. The Huskies combined to break six meet records in the intrasquad meet, which pitted each swimmer against each other in seven separate events (50 free, 100 fly, 100 back, 200 free, 100 breast, 100 free and 100 IM) at Husky pool.

Rose claimed the meet title with 20 points after finishing second at last year's meet. Rose won the 50 freestyle and set a meet record in the 100 backstroke with a time of 52.11. Also setting meet records were Justin Adrian in the 100 freestyle (46.47) and 100 fly (52.11), Luke Ekhoff in the 100 IM (53.59) and Phil Davis in the 100 breaststroke (56.48). All totaled the senior men broke five meet records. Newcomer Lorant Divald rounded out the men's winners, capturing first place in the 200 freestyle.

Olson won the 50 and 200 freestyles and the 100 IM to win the women's title. Her 200 freestyle time of 1:52.76 set an Oktoberfest record. Other event winners for the women included Brittany Epperson in the 100 freestyle, Desiree Johnson in the 100 backstroke, Jenn Latzen in the 100 butterfly and Erin Kloos in the 100 breaststroke.

Both Washington swimming teams will be back in action next Saturday, October 11, as they compete in another intrasquad showdown at 10 a.m. at the Husky Pool.

Washington Swimming- Oktoberfest Meet
Husky Pool (October 4, 2002)

Final Places

1. Sharon Olson-24 pts.
2. Hannah Jo-35 pts.
3. Erin Kloos-43 pts.
4. Rachel Owen-53 pts.
5. Desiree Johnson-56 pts.

1. Derek Rose-20 pts.
2. Luke Ekhoff-29 pts.
3. Lorant Divald-32 pts.
4. Cameron Barclift-48 pts.
5. Kevin Quinn-52 pts.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network