Cardinal Wins Annual Intrasquad Meet

Oct. 11, 2003

In terms of intensity, the USC men's and women's swimming and diving teams have few meets that match the annual intrasquad competition that kicks off every season.

UCLA maybe. Stanford and Cal? Close call.

But when the swim and dive teams divide themselves into Cardinal and Gold teams, paint their faces, dye their hair, you have to throw all the records out the window. Anything can happen.

The 2004 edition of the exhibition meet was the closest in years, the Cardinal team squeaking by in the combined competition, 222.5-218.5.

The teams split the relays, the Cardinal squad winning both the men's and women's 400y medley relays as the Gold team was disqualified in both races. The Gold squad came back at the end of the day to win both 400y free relays.

Senior co-captains Jana Krohn and Kaitlin Sandeno squared off against each other, representing the Cardinal and Gold teams, respectively, and both posted two wins. Krohn won the 200y fly and 200y free (actually tying with the Gold's Margie Pedder in the latter) while Sandeno touched first in the 200y IM and the 500y free.

USC saw a rosy glimpse of the future in the second race of the meet with freshmen Kalyn Keller (Gold) and Larsen Jensen (Cardinal) each posting wins in the 1000y free. Jensen also won the 500y free. In other races swept by freshmen, Cait Connealy and Sean Sussex swept the 100y free for Gold while Kristina Sieper (Gold) and Joun Youm (Cardinal) won races in the 200y breast.

Senior Trent Staley, also captaining the Cardinal, won the 200y free. Joanna Fargus, rounding back into shape after recovering from a severe ankle injury, won the 200y back for Gold while freshman Sam Masson won the men's event for Cardinal.

Sophomore Joy Galloway (Cardinal) won the 50y free while Sussex won it for the Gold. Other winners included Paul Fahey (Gold) in the 200y IM and Gergehy Meszaros (Gold) in the 200y fly.

In diving action, senior Nicci Fusaro won both springboard events for the women while freshmen Michael Hilde won both for the men.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network