Cross Country Set to Compete at Canyon West

Oct. 14, 2003

Complete Release in PDF Format

Sporting the highest national rankings each team has had in the history of Arizona State cross country, the Sun Devils will look to continue their recent success with the running of the Canyon West Classic Saturday at Kiwanis Park in Tempe. The women's 5,000m race is set for 8 a.m. while the men will compete in the 8,000m race at 8:45 a.m.

The meet will feature two Division I institutions in Arizona State and New Mexico. They will be joined by runners from Dine, Gateway, Mesa, Pima, Scottsdale and Yavapai Colleges while the meet hosts, Quest Running Club, also will field a team. For more meet information, go Amy Hastings has produced on a regular basis for the Sun Devils this season. Hastings has run in three races with two victories and a third-place finish on her way to securing a spot in the history books. Dating back to 1979, the first varsity season of the women's team, Hastings is only the third Sun Devil to win multiple races in a season. Sabrina Peters-Stern won twice in 1980 and Lynn Nelson set the record for wins in a season with four victories in 1983.

Overall, Hastings is No. 3 on the wins list as both Nelson and Peters-Stern have four while eight others have one.

By winning the Arizona State Invitational, the women secured their second team title of the year, marking the eighth time in history the Sun Devils have more than one team title. The other years the ASU won two were 2001, 1999, 1993, 1992, 1990, 1982 and 1981.

On the women's side, the 16 points Arizona State built en route to victory tied the program record for lowest point total in a meet. The previous time 16 points was recorded was at the 1993 Grand Canyon Invitational in Phoenix.

The men accumulated 22 points to post the third-best total in program annals. The record is 15, the lowest total possible in a meet, set at the 1999 Canyon West Classic. It also marked the first time the Sun Devil men won a team title since the 1999 CWC.

The men and women have seen its runners cross the finish line early and often this year. The women have had 10 runners finish in the Top 5 including two wins while the men have had seven. The women's total ties the 1999 mark as the most in a single season while the men's total is the most in a season.

The men and women dominated the competition Friday, Oct. 3, at the Arizona State Invitational as each team won the team title with rival Arizona taking second both times.Amy Hastings again led the women by winning her second race of the year. Rounding out the team scoring were Jessica Crate in second, Anna Masinelli in third, Desiree Davila in fifth and Amanda Lyon in seventh.

On the men's side, Juan Reyes continued his comeback from injuries with a runner-up finish behind Robert Cheseret of Arizona. Aaron Aguayo in third, Roger Cahill in fourth, J.J. Duke in sixth and Kal Clark in seventh concluded the team scoring for ASU.

Three meets remain on the schedule, all taking place on the road in November. In two weeks, the Sun Devils will head to Washington State for the 2003 Pac-10 Championships, Nov. 1 in Pullman, Wash. Two weeks later, it will be off to Portland for the NCAA West Region meet, followed by a two week layoff until the NCAA Championships.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network