Stanford to host ITA Regional Tennis Championship

Oct. 21, 2003

Updated Results

STANFORD, Calif. - Stanford will be hosting the Intercollegiate Tennis Association Northwest Women's Regional Championships October 24-27. The singles finalists and doubles champion from this event will earn spots in the November 6-9 ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships at the University of Michigan.

In addition to host Stanford, this event will feature the top players from Division I schools from: California, Fresno State, Oregon, Sacramento State, Washington and Washington State. This week's top seeds are: No. 1 Erin Burdette (Stanford); No. 2 Chloe Carlotti (Fresno State); No. 3 Daria Panova (Oregon); No. 4 Alice Barnes (Stanford); No. 5 Lauren Barnikow (Stanford); No. 6 Dea Sumantri (Washington); No. 7 Claire Carter (Washington); No. 8 Courney Nagle (Oregon); No. 9 Anna Eriksson (Sac State); No. 10 Catherine Lynch (Cal).

Seventeen ITA Regional Championships for NCAA Division I men and women are taking place over these last two weekends of October at campuses throughout the country.

The 2003 ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships, the nation's premier collegiate indoor tennis tournament, is the second of three national championship events for college tennis this season. The first events - the Riviera/ITA Women's and IcyHot/ITA Men's All-American Championships - were held last week, and the third event is season-end NCAA Championships in May. The ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships feature a 32-player singles field and 16-team doubles field for men and women, including: qualifiers from these ITA Regional Championships held across the country, the ITA National Small College champions, the winners of the ITA All-American Championships and at-large and wild card selections made by the ITA National Tournament Committee. Overall, more than 10,000 players from nearly 600 schools participate annually in the ITA Regional and National Intercollegiate Championships.

The ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships were inaugurated in 1978. Recent participants include current professionals James Blake, Bob and Mike Bryan and Laura Granville. Veteran pros Todd Martin and Lisa Raymond are also among the past champions.

As the governing body of collegiate tennis the ITA promotes both the athletic and academic achievements of the collegiate tennis community. The ITA, which was founded in 1956 and is based in Skillman, N.J., administers numerous regional and national championships, the ITA Collegiate Summer Circuit, presented by the USTA, and the ITA Collegiate Tennis Rankings for men's and women's tennis at the NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and Junior College levels. The ITA also has a comprehensive awards program for players and coaches to honor excellence in academics, leadership and sportsmanship. The official ITA Web site is

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network