Peter Tomasulo to Compete at 2003 Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic

Oct. 22, 2003

El Paso, Texas - Senior Peter Tomasulo was one of 29 All-Americans invited to participate in the 29th annual Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic, set for Nov. 23-25 at the El Paso Country Club. The tournament recognizes the nation's elite men's college golfers, with 25 universities represented this year.

Tomasulo was named honorable mention All-American as a junior, and is a two-time first-team All-Pac-10 selection. He becomes the second Cal golfer to compete at this event joining Dan Arroyo (1998).

He has gotten off to a modest start this year, by his standards. He placed tied for 13th at the Mid Pines Intercollegiate (Sept. 8-9), while helping Cal win its first tournament of the year. He was tied for ninth at the Windon Memorial Classic (Oct 6-7), but did shoot a final round 67 to help the Bears climb from 10th after two rounds, into a tie for second. At the Cal hosted Alister Mackenzie Invitational (Oct. 13-14), Tomasulo finished in a tie for 20th. But yet again, he saved his best round for last, as his 69 was a key ingredient in Cal erasing a 14-stroke deficit to upend Northwestern.

The tournament, hosted by the Sun Bowl Association, is played at the Par-71, 6,781-yard El Paso Country Club. A practice round will be held on Sunday, followed by the first and second rounds Monday, and finally the third and final round on Tuesday. Both days of the 54-hole event will start at 7:30 a.m.

Nine players will be returning to the tournament, while Tomasulo and 19 others will be making their first appearance. The field was expanded to a record-high 29 this year, because of the 45 eligible All-Americans. The previous high was 27 in 1983 and 1997.

Many Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic competitors have gone on to pursue successful careers in the Professional Golfers' Association of America and on the PGA Tour. Past champions include inaugural winner Jerry Pate (1974), Davis Love III (1984), David Duval (1991), Notah Begay (1994), Tiger Woods (1995), Matt Kuchar (1999), and Ricky Barnes (2000).

Each school is awarded a $1,000 scholarship for having a golfer compete at the tournament.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network