Pac-10 Harriers invade Pullman

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

For Immediate Release: Monday, October 27, 2003
Contact: Dave Hirsch, (Linda Chalich, Washington State Sports Information, 509/335-2684)

WASHINGTON STATE to Serve as Host for the Championships

MEN'S RACE (35th annual). . . The MONDO Top-30 (Oct. 21) includes No. 1 STANFORD, No. 14 ARIZONA, No. 15 ARIZONA STATE, No. 18 OREGON and No. 27 WASHINGTON. WASHINGTON STATE also received votes in the latest poll. . . . Stanford has won six of the last seven championships and should be the early favorite. The Cardinal have dominated the competition this season, including the recent Pre-NCAA meet in Waterloo, Iowa, where six Cardinal runners finished among the top 10. Stanford will be led by a strong senior class that includes Ian Dobson, Louis Luchini, Grant Robison, Donald Sage and Adam Tenforde. . . . Arizona will be paced by freshman Robert Cheseret, who has not placed lower than second in any meet this season, junior Jonah Maiyo and senior Kyle Goklish. . . Arizona State will count on junior Juan Reyes and sophomore Aaron Aguayo. . . . Oregon will contend with a veteran lineup that includes juniors Ryan Andrus, Eric Logsdon and senior Brett Holts. . . . Senior Eric Garner and sophomore Mark Mandi will keep Washington in the chase. . . Washington State senior Ian Johnson and junior Dan Wolf will look for home course advantage. . . Others to watch at the championships include CALIFORNIA junior Girmay Guangul and sophomore Giliat Ghebray; UCLA freshman Austin Ramos and junior Jon Rankin.

WOMEN'S RACE (18th annual). . . Three Pac-10 women's teams grace the latest FinishLynx Top-25 (Oct. 20). Defending Pac-10 champion STANFORD sits at No. 1, followed by No. 4 ARIZONA STATE, No. 15 UCLA and No. 25 WASHINGTON. The Cardinal look for their eighth consecutive title, and 10th in 11 years, behind juniors Sara Bei and Alicia Craig. The senior-less Stanford squad includes several talented freshmen in twins Amanda and Katy Trotter and Arianna Lambie. . . . Arizona State will be led by sophomore Amy Hastings, only the third Sun Devil to win multiple races in one season, and sophomore Anna Masinelli. ASU women stunned several teams with its first place finish at the talent-laden Roy Griak Invitational. . . . UCLA senior Valerie Flores, and freshmen Alison Costello and Ashley Caldwell should keep the Bruins in the hunt. . . . Junior Lindsey Egerdahl will lead a young Washington squad that includes freshman Amy Lia. . . . ARIZONA will ride the talent of junior Beth Hoge and sophomore Michi Hirakawa-Wong. . . . CALIFORNIA will depend on sophomore Bridget Duffy and freshman Christy Borak. . . Seniors Eli Macdonald and Magdalena Sandoval will lead the OREGON Ducks. . . . USC will be paced by sophomore Iryna Vaschuk and senior Brooke Thomas. . . . WASHINGTON STATE senior Anna Blue and junior Ana Cabrera hope to take advantage of the familiar course.

THE COURSE . . . The men's course will cover 8,000 meters at the Washington State Golf Course, Pullman, Wash. The women, meanwhile, will run a course of 6,000 meters. The terrain for both the men's course and women's course will be run over grass and gravel and will be hilly and challenging.

Pacific-10 Cross Country Championships
When: Saturday November 1, 2003
Where: Washington State Golf Course, Pullman, Wash.
Race Times: Men - 12 noon; Women - 1 p.m.

LAST YEAR . . . A one, two, three finish by juniors Grant Robison, Ian Dobson, and Donald Sage propelled the STANFORD Cardinal to a record low 19 points in winning their sixth Pac-10 title in the last seven years. The trio also was instrumental in leading the Cardinal to the NCAA title. Robison, the Pac-10's Men's Cross Country Athlete of the Year, was the top Cardinal finisher at the NCAA championships with a third place showing.

The STANFORD women dominated the Pac-10 championships with a record low 23 points to capture their seventh consecutive Pac-10 title, and ninth Conference crown in 10 years. Four of the first five runners across the finish line were Stanford Cardinal, led by individual champion sophomore Sara Bei. The Cardinal went on to a second place finish at the NCAA championships, led by the individual effort of sophomore Alicia Craig. Craig finished third and went on to claim Pac-10 Women's Cross Country Athlete of the Year honors.


	MEN - Team Results		WOMEN - Team Results	1.	Stanford	19	1.	Stanford	23	2.	Oregon		51	2.	Arizona State	59	3.	Arizona State	85	3.	Washington	79	4.	Washington	114	4.	UCLA		186	5.	Washington St.	165	5.	Oregon		134	6.	California	166	6.	Washington St.	197	7.	Arizona		176	7.	USC	202	8.	UCLA		183	8.	California	208					9.	Arizona		242

MEN - Top-5 Individuals WOMEN Top-5 Individuals 1. Grant Robison, STAN 24:27 1. Sara Bei, STAN 19:48 2. Ian Dobson, STAN 23:30 2. Lauren Fleshman, STAN 19:50 3. Donald Sage, STAN 23:36 3. Lena Nilsson, UCLA 20:01 4. Jason Hartmann, ORE 23:38 4. Alicia Craig, STAN 20:10 5. Ryan Andrus, ORE 23:43 5. Malindi Elmore, STAN 20:25


Year	Men		Individual	Women	Individual2002	Stanford	Grant Robison, STAN	Stanford	Sara Bei, STAN2001	Stanford	Grant Robison, STAN	Stanford	Lauren Fleshman, STAN2000	Stanford	Jonathon Riley, STAN	Stanford	Tara Chaplin, ARIZ1999	Arizona		Steve Fein, ORE		Stanford	Erin Sullivan, STAN1998	Stanford	Abdi Abdirahman, ARIZ	Stanford	Amy Skieresz, ARIZ1997	Stanford	Bernard Lagat, WSU	Stanford	Amy Skieresz, ARIZ1996	Stanford	Mebrahtom Keflezighi, UCLA	Stanford	Amy Skieresz, ARIZ1995	Oregon		Karl Keska, ORE		Oregon		Amy Skieresz, ARIZ1994	Arizona		Martin Keino, ARIZ	Stanford	Karen Hecox, UCLA1993	Washington	Josephat Kapkory, WSU	Stanford	Karen Hecox, UCLA1992	Oregon		Josephat Kapkory, WSU	Oregon		Nicole Woodward, ORE1991	Arizona		Colin Dalton, ORE	Oregon		Lisa Karnopp, ORE

WHERE DO WE GO FROM HERE? . . . The NCAA West Regional Championships will be in Portland, Ore., Saturday, Nov. 15, while the NCAA Championships will be Monday, Nov. 24 in Waterloo, Iowa.

NEXT YEAR . . . California will host the 2004 Pac-10 Cross Country Championships.

2003 PAC-10 CROSS COUNTRY CHAMPIONSHIPS RESULTS . . . Following the championships, final results for the men's and women's races will be available on the Washinton State web site ( and the Pac-10 web site (

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder