Matt Grootegoed Named Semifinalist For Lombardi Award

Oct. 28, 2003

USC junior linebacker Matt Grootegoed has been named one of 12 semifinalists for the 2003 Lombardi Award, presented annually to college football's top lineman (including outside linebackers).

Four finalists will be announced Nov. 11 and the winner will be revealed on Dec. 10.

The other semifinalists are offensive tackle Shawn Andrews of Arkansas, defensive end Dave Ball of UCLA, offensive tackle Robert Gallery of Iowa, center Jake Grove of Virginia Tech, defensive tackle Tommie Harris of Oklahoma, linebacker Teddy Lehman of Oklahoma, defensive end David Pollack of Georgia, defensive end Bo Schobel of TCU, defensive end Will Smith of Ohio State, linebacker Jonathan Vilma of Miami and tight end Kellen Winslow of Miami.

Grootegoed could be the second Trojan to win the Lombardi award. In 1979, offensive guard Brad Budde earned the honor.

Earlier this month, Grootegoed was named one of 11 semifinalists for the Butkus Award, given to the nation's top collegiate linebacker.

This season, Grootegoed--who was an All-Pac-10 first team selection as a sophomore--has 40 tackles, including 4.5 for losses (1.5 sacks), 2 forced fumbles, a fumble recovery and a pass deflection.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network