Fitzgerald Named Top Coach On SSC Silver Anniversary Men's Soccer Team

Oct. 30, 2003

UCLA men's soccer head coach Tom Fitzgerald was selected as the top coach on the Sunshine State Conference Silver Anniversary Men's Soccer Team. The former University of Tampa coach is a member of the SSC Hall of Fame.

Fitzgerald, the architect of Tampa's 1994 NCAA Division II championship team, posted an overall record of 148-34-12 in nine seasons at the helm of the Spartans' program. His teams claimed at least a share of the SSC championship six times (1987, 1989, 1990, 1992, 1994 and 1995), earned three South Region championships (1987, 1992 and 1994) and appeared in nine consecutive NCAA tournaments, earning a postseason berth in every season during Fitzgerald's tenure. Inducted into the SSC Hall of Fame in 1999, Fitzgerald was a four-time SSC Coach of the Year (1987, 1989, 1990 and 1995) and a three-time South Region Coach of the Year (1987, 1988 and 1990). While at UT, Fitzgerald produced nine All-Americans, 35 First Team All-South Region selections and 67 All-SSC players. Since leaving Tampa after the 1995 season, Fitzgerald spent seven years as the head coach of Major League Soccer's Columbus Crew and is currently the head coach at UCLA. The Bruins captured the 2002 NCAA Division I national championship in his first season, and Fitzgerald was voted the NSCAA/adidas National Coach of the Year. Fitzgerald is just the third coach in history to win NCAA titles in both Division I and II.

Voting for the squad was conducted among the athletic directors at each of the SSC's eight active member institutions. Although the SSC was founded prior to the 1975-76 season, men's soccer was adopted as a conference sport in 1978-79. In addition to selecting Fitzgerald as the top coach of the SSC's first quarter century of men's soccer, they named Florida Tech player Richard Sharpe as the top player. Sharpe is the most prolific scorer in NCAA history, holding NCAA career records for goals (137) and points (321).

Fitzgerald coached all five Tampa players named to the Silver Anniversary Team: Adrian Bush, Henrik Nebrelius, Ulf Lillius, Tom Reasoner and Justin Throneburg.


F Adrian Bush, Tampa 1990-91, 93-94
F Eddie Enders, Florida Tech 1990-93
F Steve Freeman, Florida Tech 1986-89
F Sam Koleduk, Saint Leo 1990-91, 93-94
F Alen Marcina, Barry 1999-2002
F Henrik Nebrelius, Tampa 1995-97
F Chris Payne, Florida Tech 1987-90
F Richard Sharpe, Florida Tech 1990-93
F John Smith, Rollins 1993-96
M Jon Akin, Saint Leo 1995-98
M Steve Bence, Rollins 1991-94
M Bino Campanini, Florida Tech 1986-89
M Geoff Chisolm, Saint Leo 1993-95, 97
M Ulf Lillius, Tampa 1992-94
M Finn Tomulevski, Lynn 1999-2001
D Gareth Dunn, Lynn 1998-2000
D Andy Hylton, Barry 1997-2000
D Greg Jehs, Barry 1999-2002
D Andy Leeker, Rollins 1975-78
D Dylan Lewis, Florida Tech 1998-91
D Tom Reasoner, Tampa 1985-89
G Justin Throneburg, Tampa 1988-91
G Bill Twaite, Florida Tech 1988-90

Top Player of First 25 Years: Richard Sharpe, Florida Tech (1990-93)
Top Coach of First 25 Years: Tom Fitzgerald, Tampa (1987-95)

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder