USC Women's Cross Country Heads To Pac-10 Championships

Oct. 30, 2003

Los Angeles - USC Women's Cross Country: On Saturday, November 1, seven members of the Women of Troy Cross Country team will be competing in Pullman, Washington in the Pacific-10 Conference Championships. The team will be lead by sophomore Irina Vashchuk, followed by senior Brooke Thomas, freshman Kristen Berglas, sophomore Meghan Mainwaring, junior Harlye Maya, sophomore Kate Neeper, and junior Rae Stumbough. This race will be an excellent opportunity for the Trojans to place higher than any other year in USC Women's Cross Country history.

The Trojans started off the season strong at the Fullerton Invitational where they finished third. The following week Brook Thomas placed third in the San Diego State Invitational, leading the team to a fifth place finish. At the UC Riverside Invitational, Neeper ran a PR of 18:11 and five of the Trojans placed at or below the 19 minute mark, aiding in their third place finish. Vashchuk's d�but at the UC San Diego Invitational allowed her to shine when she won the meet by 21 seconds. It was after the final race hosted by Long Beach State that Coach Tom Walsh chose the top seven that would represent the team in Pullman this Saturday.

WOMEN'S RACE (18th annual). . . Three Pac-10 women's teams grace the latest FinishLynx Top-25 (Oct. 20). Defending Pac-10 champion STANFORD sits at No. 1, followed by No. 4 ARIZONA STATE, No. 15 UCLA and No. 25 WASHINGTON. The Cardinal look for their eighth consecutive title, and 10th in 11 years, behind juniors Sara Bei and Alicia Craig. The senior-less Stanford squad includes several talented freshmen in twins Amanda and Katy Trotter and Arianna Lambie. . . . Arizona State will be led by sophomore Amy Hastings, only the third Sun Devil to win multiple races in one season, and sophomore Anna Masinelli. ASU women stunned several teams with its first place finish at the talent-laden Roy Griak Invitational. . . . UCLA senior Valerie Flores, and freshmen Alison Costello and Ashley Caldwell should keep the Bruins in the hunt. . . . Junior Lindsey Egerdahl will lead a young Washington squad that includes freshman Amy Lia. . . . ARIZONA will ride the talent of junior Beth Hoge and sophomore Michi Hirakawa-Wong. . . . CALIFORNIA will depend on sophomore Bridget Duffy and freshman Christy Borak. . . Seniors Eli Macdonald and Magdalena Sandoval will lead the OREGON Ducks. . . . USC will be paced by sophomore Iryna Vaschuk and senior Brooke Thomas. . . . WASHINGTON STATE senior Anna Blue and junior Ana Cabrera hope to take advantage of the familiar course. THE COURSE . . . The men's course will cover 8,000 meters at the Washington State Golf Course, Pullman, Wash. The women, meanwhile, will run a course of 6,000 meters. The terrain for both the men's course and women's course will be run over grass and gravel and will be hilly and challenging. Pacific-10 Cross Country ChampionshipsWhen: Saturday November 1, 2003Where: Washington State Golf Course, Pullman, Wash.Race Times: Men - 12 noon; Women - 1 p.m.LAST YEAR . . . The STANFORD women dominated the Pac-10 championships with a record low 23 points to capture their seventh consecutive Pac-10 title, and ninth Conference crown in 10 years. Four of the first five runners across the finish line were Stanford Cardinal, led by individual champion sophomore Sara Bei. The Cardinal went on to a second place finish at the NCAA championships, led by the individual effort of sophomore Alicia Craig. Craig finished third and went on to claim Pac-10 Women's Cross Country Athlete of the Year honors.

2002 PAC-10 CHAMPIONSHIP RESULTSWOMEN - Team Results1. Stanford 232. Arizona State 593. Washington 794. UCLA 1865. Oregon 1346. Washington St. 1977. USC 2028. California 2089. Arizona 242

WOMEN Top-5 Individuals1. Sara Bei, STAN 19:482. Lauren Fleshman, STAN 19:503. Lena Nilsson, UCLA 20:014. Alicia Craig, STAN 20:105. Malindi Elmore, STAN 20:25

PREVIOUS CHAMPIONS (since 1991)Year Women Individual2002 Sara Bei, STAN2001 Lauren Fleshman, STAN2000 Tara Chaplin, ARIZ1999 Erin Sullivan, STAN1998 Amy Skieresz, ARIZ1997 Amy Skieresz, ARIZ1996 Amy Skieresz, ARIZ1995 Amy Skieresz, ARIZ1994 Karen Hecox, UCLA1993 Karen Hecox, UCLA1992 Nicole Woodward, ORE1991 Lisa Karnopp, ORE

2003 PAC-10 CROSS COUNTRY CHAMPIONSHIPS RESULTS . . . Following the championships, final results for the men's and women's races will be available on the Washinton State web site ( and the Pac-10 web site (

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder