Arizona Men and Women Defeat Wisconsin in Season Opener.

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Oct. 31, 2003

TUCSON, Ariz.- The University of Arizona men's and women's swimming and diving teams began their 2003-04 season this afternoon with victories over the Wisconsin Badgers. The men won with a score of 175 to 121 while the women defeated the lady Badgers with a score of 172.5 to 128.5. Lyndon Ferns led the men's team placing first in three events; the 200 freestyle, 50 freestyle, and 100 freestyle. Senior Jessica Wagner swam her way to first place in both the 100 and 200 breaststroke.

Sophomore Dave Rollins, senior Greg Owen, senior Luis Rojas, and senior Eric La Fleur placed first in the 400-medley realy with a time of 3:22.28.

Sophomore Tyler DeBerry earned 18 points for the Wildcats by winning the 1000 and 500 freestyle events. He also finished seventh in the 200 freestyle and fifth in the 400 freestyle relay. Senior Juan Veloz had a successful day by finishing first in the 200 butterfly and third in the 200 backstroke.

On the diving boards, Arizona laid claim to the top-three spots in the one meter and three meter events. Senior Alex Vollelunga won the one-meter competition while sophomore John Collier won the three-meter. Freshmen Dustin Watson earned six points in his Wildcat debut by taking third place in both the one-meter and three meter events.

For the women's swimming team, sophomore Marshi Smith, senior Jessica Wagner, sophomore Lisa Pursley and Freshman Lauren Preyss dominated Wisconsin winning the 400-medley relay in a time of 3:45.41. Freshman Whitney Myers earned 22 points for the Wildcats by placing first in the 100 and 200 butterfly, and taking second in the 100 freestyle. Junior Emily Mason placed second in the 1000 freestyle, 500 freestyle, and 400 individual medley adding 12 points to the Wildcat score.

For the women's diving team, senior Daniela Bemme and freshman Mary Yarrison stood out among everyone by taking the first and second places in both events. Bemme finished first in the one-meter competition while Yarrison was first in the three meter.

The Wildcats will continue their competition with Wisconsin tomorrow at 12:00 p.m MST at the Hillenbrand Aquatic Center on the University of Arizona campus.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder