Men's Tennis Advance At Thunderbird Invitational

Oct. 31, 2003

Arizona State was led by Clint Letcher on the opening day of the 2003 ASU Thunderbird Invitational. Letcher was the lone Sun Devil to advance to the semifinals, as Nick Hegarty and Ryan McBride fell in the quarterfinals. Action resumes Saturday morning at 11:30 am at the Whiteman Tennis Center.

In the opening round of action, Arizona State's Clint Letcher defeated San Diego's Matt Ozurovich 7-5, 6-7, 10-8. The Sun Devils Ryan McBride rolled over New Mexico State's Danilo Zivanovic 6-4, 6-3. The other Sun Devil win was Nick Hegarty over Utah's Roeland Brateanu 6-1, 6-2. Arizona State's Chris Stewart lost a third set super tie breaker to New Mexico State's Ben Archer-Clowes 1-6, 7-6 (7), 10-2. The Sun Devils Jon Stott fell to Auburn's Gabor Zoltan Pelva 6-2, 6-3.

In this afternoon's quarterfinals, Arizona State's Clint Letcher advanced with a 6-1, 6-4 victory over New Mexico State's Stjepan Beg. The Sun Devils Nick Hegarty fell to Auburn's Gabor Zoltan Pelva 6-2, 6-2, while teammate Ryan McBride also went down to Auburn Tiger Rodrigo Minozzo 6-4, 6-2. In the consolation round, Arizona State's Chris Stewart easily advanced over San Diego's Jeff Das 6-2, 6-2. Also in the consolation round, Stott fell to Utah's Roeland Brateanu 6-2, 1-6, 11-9.

In doubles action, Arizona State's Ryan McBride/Chris Stewart easily advanced over San Diego's Jeff Das/Matt Ozurovich 8-0. Also, the Sun Devils team of Jon Stott/Nick Hagerty got past New Mexico State's Archer Clowes/Beg 8-5.

Singles action will begin at 11:30 a.m. Saturday morning at the Whiteman Tennis Center.



Clint Letcher (ASU) def. Matt Ozurovich (SD) 7-5, 6-7 (5), 10-8

Ben Archer Clowes (NMSU) def. Chris Stewart (ASU) 1-6, 7-6 (7), 10-2

Nick Hagerty (ASU) def. Roeland Brateanu (Utah) 6-1, 6-2

Ryan McBride (ASU) def. Danilo Zivanovic (NMSU) 6-4, 6-3

Gabor Zoltan Pelva (AUB) def. Jon Stott (ASU) 6-2, 6-3

Nick Lane (AUB) def. Jeff Das (SD) 6-4, 6-2

Stjepan Beg (NMSU) def. Tomasz Gryzb (UTAH) 7-5, 7-6 (2)

Rodrigo Minozzo (AUB) def. Oscar Plotnik (SD) 6-4, 4-6, 10-4


Clint Letcher (ASU) def. Stjepan Beg (NMSU) 6-1, 6-4

Gabor Zoltan Pelva (AUB) def. Nick Hagerty (ASU) 6-2, 6-2

Rodrigo Minozzo (AUB) def. Ryan McBride (ASU) 6-4, 6-2

Nick Lane (AUB) def. Ben Archer Clowes (NMSU) 6-4, 6-4


Roeland Brateanu (UTAH) def. Jon Stott (ASU) 6-2, 1-6, 11-9

Chris Stewart (ASU) def. Jeff Das (SD) 6-2, 6-2

Tomasz Gryzb (UTAH) def. Matt Ozurovich (SD) 6-4, 6-4

Danilo Zivanovic (NMSU) def. Oscar PLotnik (SD) 6-2, 6-3


Ryan McBride/Chris Stewart (ASU) def. Jeff Das/Matt Ozurovich (SD) 8-0

Jon Stott/Nick Hagerty (ASU) def. Ben Archer Clowes/Stjepan Beg (NMSU) 8-5

Gabor Zoltan Pelva/Nick Lane (AUB) def. Roeland Brateanu/Tomasz Gryzb (UTAH) 8-5

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder