Channing Frye and Salim Stoudamire Named to Naismith Player of the Year List

Nov. 7, 2003

TUCSON, Ariz. - University of Arizona men's basketball players Channing Frye and Salim Stoudamire were named to the list of preseason candidates for the 2003-04 Naismith College Basketball Player of the Year award, it was announced by Jackie Bradford, president of the Atlanta Tipoff Club.

The Wildcat duo is included among a list of 30 student-athletes who are under consideration for the 2004 Naismith Award, which is given annually to college basketball's player of the year. Arizona is one of just six schools nationally to have two players appear on the preseason top-30 list.

Frye, a 6-foot-11, 248-pound junior center from Phoenix, Ariz., averaged 12.6 points and a team-leading 8.0 rebounds in 2002-03. An honorable mention all-Pac-10 selection a year ago, Frye ranked third in the conference and 29th nationally with a 56.9 field goal percentage. He also ranked second in the Pac-10 with 60 blocked shots. Nine of his 15 career double-doubles came last season. It is the first time he has been recognized by the Naismith Award selection committee.

Stoudamire, a 6-foot-1, 177-pound junior guard from Portland, Ore., averaged 13.0 points, 1.6 rebounds and 1.8 assists as a started in 27 of 30 appearances. He shot 47.3 percent from the field, including 44.4 percent from three-point range, while knocking down 86.4 percent of his free throw attempts. An outstanding shooter, Stoudamire currently ranks second on Arizona's career three-point field goal percentage (.444), while his 144 career treys already ranks ninth on the UA career list. It is also Stoudamire's first career honor from the Naismith Award selection committee.

The Naismith Awards program, now in its 36th year, honors the outstanding college basketball players in the United States. The awards program was founded by the Atlanta Tipoff Club, an organization dedicated to recognizing the achievements of student-athletes in basketball.

The candidates were selected by a vote of the Board of Selectors comprised of leading basketball coaches, journalists, and basketball analysts. Members of the board were asked to name top male players who are most likely to be in contention for the award.

Frye and Stoudamire are among eight returning lettermen from last season's 28-4 club that won the Pac-10 championship and advanced to the NCAA West Regional final.

2003-04 Preseason Naismith Award Candidates
Andre Barrett, Seton Hall
Dee Brown, Illinois
Josh Childress, Stanford
Paul Davis, Michigan State
Ike Diogu, Arizona State
Chris Duhon, Duke
Andre Emmett, Texas Tech
Raymond Felton, UNC
Channing Frye, Arizona
Ben Gordon, UConn
David Harrison, Colorado
Chris Hill, Michigan State
Julius Hodge, NC State
Luke Jackson, Oregon
Keith Langford, Kansas
Rashad McCants, UNC
Marcus Moore, Washington State
Brandon Mouton, Texas
Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph's
Emeka Okafor, UConn
Rickey Paulding, Missouri
J.J. Redick, Duke
Darius Rice, Miami
Romain Sato, Xavier
Wayne Simien, Kansas
Salim Stoudamire, Arizona
Amit Tamir, California
Chris Thomas, Notre Dame
Hakim Warrick, Syracuse
Bracey Wright, Indiana

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder