Dave Ball Named Hendricks Award Finalist

Nov. 7, 2003

The Ted Hendricks Foundation announced today the finalists for the 2003 Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award.

Commenting on the finalists, Pro Football Hall of Famer, Ted Hendricks said, 'This year's vote for the finalists was very close with six outstanding defensive ends rising to the top. They all have had fine years and I can't wait to watch them through the end of their season.'

The finalists include UCLA's David Ball, Oklahoma's Dan Cody, the University of Georgia's David Pollack, Texas Christian's Bo Schobel, Ohio State University's Will Smith, and Southern California's Kenechi Udeze.

The Hendricks Award winner will be announced during the final week of the bowl season.

UCLA's Ball, a 6-foot-6 senior, leads the nation with 12.5 sacks.

'Offensive lines have been struggling to block him for a couple years now, and he and the rest of the defense have helped compensate for a young offense in keeping UCLA near the top of the Pac-10 standings,' said Stewart Mandel, college football analyst for CNN/SI.

On-field performance, leadership abilities and contributions to school and community are some of the criteria that will be used to determine the award winner. The candidates may represent any class (freshman through senior) as well as any recognized four-year NCAA member school (Division I through Division III).

Arizona State University defensive end Terrell Suggs, a first round pick in the 2003 National Football League draft, won the first Hendricks Award in 2002.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder