Josh Childress Named Naismith Player of the Year Candidate

Nov. 6, 2003

Atlanta, Ga - Seven Pac-10 players, including Stanford's Josh Childress, head the list of 30 pre-season candidates for the 2003-04 Naismith College Basketball Player of the Year Award.

The Naismith Awards progrm, now in its 36th year, honors the outstanding college basketball player in the United States. The awards program was founded by the Atlanta Tipoff Club, an organization dedicated to recognizing the achievements of student-athletes in basketball.

The candidates were selected by a vote of the Board of Selectors comprised of leading basketball coaches, journalists and basketball analysts.

Childress, a member of the 2003 United States team at the Pan Am Games, averaged 14.1 points and 8.1 rebounds per game last year in helping lead the Cardinal to a 24-9 record and a trip to the NCAA Tournament.

Last year's Naismith Award winner was T.J. Ford from Texas. The first recipient of the Naismith Award was Lew Alcindor (Kareem Abdul-Jabbar) of UCLA in 1969. Other winners have included Michael Jordan, Larry Bird, Bill Walton and Patrick Ewing.

Childress has also been named to the ten-member Playboy Magazine 2004 All-American Team. The other members are Arizona State's Ike Diogu, Cal's Amit Tamir, Emeka Ofakor of UConn, Dee Brown of Illinois, Rickey Paulding of Missouri, Raymond Felton of North Carolina, Gonzaga's Blake Stepp, Hakim Warrick of Syracuse and Julius Hodge of North Carolina State.

The pre-season 2003-04 candidates for the Naismith Award are as follows:
Josh Childress, Stanford
Andre Barrett, Seton Hall
Dee Brown, Illinois
Paul Davis, Michigan State
Ike Diogu, Arizona State
Chris Duhon, Duke
Andre Emmett, Texas Tech
Raymond Felton, North Carolina
Channing Frye, Arizona
Ben Gordon, Connecticut
David Harrison, Colorado
Chris Hill, Michigan State
Julius Hodge, North Carolina State
Luke Jackson, Oregon
Keith Langford, Kansas
Rashad McCants, North Carolina
Marcus Moore, Washington State
Brandon Mouton, Texas
Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph's
Emeka Okafor, Connecticut
Rickey Paulding, Missouri
J.J. Redick, Duke
Darius Rice, Miami
Romain Sato, Xavier
Wayne Simien, Kansas
Salim Stoudamire, Arizona
Amit Tamir, California
Chris Thomas, Notre Dame
Hakim Warrick, Syracuse
Bracey Wright, Indiana

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder