Tamir Preseason Candidate for Naismith Award

Nov. 7, 2003

BERKELEY - Amit Tamir, Ike Diogu, Raymond Felton, Jameer Nelson and Emeka Okafor head the list of 30 men's preseason candidates for the 2003-04 Naismith College Basketball Player of the Year Awards.

The Naismith Awards program, now in its 36th year, honors the outstanding college basketball players in the United States. The awards program was founded by the Atlanta Tipoff Club, an organization dedicated to recognizing the achievements of student-athletes in basketball.

The candidates were selected by a vote of the Board of Selectors, comprised of leading basketball coaches, journalists and basketball analysts. Members of the board were asked to name top male and female players who are most likely to be in contention for the award.

Tamir, an All-Pac-10 forward for the Bears last season when he averaged 14.9 ppg and 6.5 rpg, is also one of 50 preseason candidates for the Wooden All-America team, and he is one of 10 players on the 2003-04 Playboy All-America squad.

The preseason candidates for the Naismith Awards, listed in alphabetical order, are as follows:

Male Candidates
Andre Barrett, Seton Hall
Dee Brown, Illinois
Josh Childress, Stanford
Paul Davis, Michigan State
Ike Diogu, Arizona State
Chris Duhon, Duke
Andre Emmett, Texas Tech
Raymond Felton, UNC
Channing Frye, Arizona
Ben Gordon, UConn
David Harrison, Colorado
Chris Hill, Michigan State
Julius Hodge, NC State
Luke Jackson, Oregon
Keith Langford, Kansas
Rashad McCants, UNC
Marcus Moore, Washington State
Brandon Mouton, Texas
Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph's
Emeka Okafor, UConn
Rickey Paulding, Missouri
J.J. Redick, Duke
Darius Rice, Miami
Romain Sato, Xavier
Wayne Simien, Kansas
Salim Stoudamire, Arizona
Amit Tamir, California
Chris Thomas, Notre Dame
Hakim Warrick, Syracuse
Bracey Wright, Indiana

Female Candidates
Seimone Augustus, LSU
Jacqueline Batteast, Notre Dame
Alana Beard, Duke
Jenni Benningfield, Vanderbilt
Tera Bjorklund, Colorado
Rebakkah Brunson, Georgetown
Jamie Carey, Texas
Shameka Christon, Arkansas
Shyra Ely, Tennessee
Trina Frierson, LA Tech
Ebony Hoffman, USC (CA)
Temeka Johnson, LSU
Chandi Jones, Houston
Kelly Mazzante, Penn State
Loree Moore, Tennessee
Nicole Ohlde, Kansas State
Jia Perkins, Texas Tech
Cappie Pondexter, Rutgers
Nicole Powell, Stanford
Heather Schreiber, Texas
Stacy Stephens, Texas
Ann Strother, UConn
Diana Taurasi, UConn
Christi Thomas, Georgia
Iciss Tillis, Duke
Kendra Wecker, Kansas State
Lindsay Whalen, Minnesota
Tan White, Mississippi State
Shereka Wright, Purdue
Tanisha Wright, Penn State

Last year's Naismith Award recipients were T.J. Ford (University of Texas) and Diana Tarausi (University of Connecticut). The first recipient of the male Naismith Award was Lew Alcindor (Kareem Abdul-Jabbar) of UCLA in 1969. Other college player of the year recipients include many NBA standouts such as Bill Walton, Larry Bird, Michael Jordan, Patrick Ewing and Christian Laettner. The women's Naismith Award, first presented in 1983 to Anne Donovan of Old Dominion, includes recipients such as three-time winner Cheryl Miller of USC, and two-time honorees Clarissa Davis of Texas, Chamique Holdsclaw of Tennessee and Dawn Staley of Virginia.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder