Ike Diogu A Naismith Award Candidate

Nov. 10, 2003

Arizona State sophomore Ike Diogu has been named to the list of preseason candidates for the 2003-04 Naismith College Basketball Player of the Year award, it was announced by Jackie Bradford, president of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. Diogu is included among a list of 30 student-athletes who are under consideration for the 2004 Naismith Award, which is given annually to college basketball's player of the year.

Diogu, the 2003 Pac-10 Freshman of the Year and the only freshman to earn All-Pac-10 last season, averaged 19.9 points and 9.6 rebounds in the final 14 games and had 12 20-point games. His 19.9 points per game mark last year is the third-best by a freshman in Pac-10 history, and he earned honorable mention All-American last year by The Associated Press. Diogu and Carmelo Anthony, a second-team selection, were the only freshmen to receive votes by the 72 media members.

The Garland, Texas, native set ASU freshman records for starts (32), points (607), field goals made (209), rebounds (249) and minutes (1,030). He set school records for free throws made (180) and attempted (245) and his 18 rebounds vs. Oregon in the Pac-10 Tournament set the ASU freshman single-game mark and is a Pac-10 Tournament record.

ASU advanced to the second round of the NCAA Tournament and finished 20-12 overall and fourth in the Pac-10 at 11-7.

The Naismith Awards program, now in its 36th year, honors the outstandingcollege basketball players in the United States. The awards program wasfounded by the Atlanta Tipoff Club, an organization dedicated to recognizing theachievements of student-athletes in basketball.

The candidates were selected by a vote of the Board of Selectors comprised ofleading basketball coaches, journalists, and basketball analysts. Members of theboard were asked to name top male players who are most likely to be in contention for the award.

2003-04 Preseason Naismith Award CandidatesAndre Barrett, Seton HallDee Brown, IllinoisJosh Childress, StanfordPaul Davis, Michigan StateIke Diogu, Arizona StateChris Duhon, DukeAndre Emmett, Texas TechRaymond Felton, UNCChanning Frye, ArizonaBen Gordon, UConnDavid Harrison, ColoradoChris Hill, Michigan StateJulius Hodge, NC StateLuke Jackson, OregonKeith Langford, KansasRashad McCants, UNCMarcus Moore, Washington StateBrandon Mouton, TexasJameer Nelson, St. Joseph'sEmeka Okafor, UConnRickey Paulding, MissouriJ.J. Redick, DukeDarius Rice, MiamiRomain Sato, XavierWayne Simien, KansasSalim Stoudamire, ArizonaAmit Tamir, CaliforniaChris Thomas, Notre DameHakim Warrick, SyracuseBracey Wright, Indiana
Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder