Results From Stanford-Cal Triple Distance Meet

Nov. 12, 2003

Stanford, Calif. - The Stanford men's swimming team competed in a triple distance meet with California today at the Avery Aquatic Center this afternoon. Cardinal swimmers won four of six catagories, including the butterfly, breaststroke, IM and distance freestyle.

Junior Jayme Cramer won the butterfly catagory, turning in a combined time of 2:57.28 which included his times in the 50, 100 and 200 fly. Teammate Matt McDonald took third, clocking in with a combined time of 3:01.84 while sophomore Michael Passey was fifth (3:08.77).

Stanford's top finisher in the backstroke was senior Peter Marshall who placed second with a time of 2:59.23 which included the 50, 100 and 200 backstrokes. Freshman swimmer Hongzhe Sun was third (3:02.01) while fellow frosh Kyle Ransom placed fifth (3:08.65).

Dan Trupin took top honors in the breaststroke catagory with a combined time of 3:23.80 which included the 50, 100 and 200 breaststrokes. Teammate Nick Wolfe placed fourth (3:30.19) while teammate Ricky Eddy was sixth (3:37.67).

In the sprint free catagory, the Cardinal's top finisher was freshman Ben Wildman-Tobriner who placed second with a time of 2:46.91 which combined the 50, 100 and 200 freestyle races. Scott Ransenberg finished fourth (2:50.92) followed by teammate Andrew Schnell (2:51.23) who took fifth.

Senior Markus Rogan won the IM catagory in a combined time of 6:26.74 (included the 100, 200 and 400 IM). Freshman Keenan Newman placed fourth (6:46.87) while teammate Mark Stephens finished fifth (6:48.45).

Freshman Shaun Phillips won the distance free catagory, turning in a combined time of 15:23.72 (included the 200, 500 and 1000 freestyle events). Sophomore Michael McLean was second (15:30.36) followed by teammate Andy Grant (15:34.21).

California won both relays on the afternoon with a time of 3:13.93 in the 400 medley and a time of 2:59.28 in the 400 freestyle relay. Stanford's medley relay team of Peter Marshall, Dan Trupin, Jayme Cramer and Ben Wildman-Tobriner finished second (3:15.39). The Cardinal free relay team of Markus Rogan, Bobby O'Bryan, Scott Ransenberg and Andrew Schnell also took second (3:00.57).

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder