Williams Named to Walter Camp Player of the Year List

Nov. 12, 2003

Seattle - Washington junior wide receiver Reggie Williams is one of 15 players named to the Walter Camp Football Foundation watch list for its player of the year award. The Walter Camp Player of the Year Award is the fourth-oldest individual college football award in the nation.

Williams leads Washington with 78 receptions, 1,027 receiving yards and eight touchdowns. He tops all Pac-10 Conference receivers in receptions and ranks second in the nation in that category and is seventh in yards per game. Only a junior, he holds the school record with 3,454 career receiving yards and 227 career receptions. He has a school-record 16 career 100-yard games and has a reception in all 35 career games. Williams currently ranks No. 2 on the Pac-10's career receiving yards list with 3,516 career yards (Pac-10 counts all bowls) and is also No. 2 with 232 career receptions.

The 2003 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, who is voted on by the 117 Division I-A head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced live on Thursday, December 11 during the 6:00 p.m. edition of ESPN SportsCenter. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation's annual national awards banquet on February 14, 2004 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

Last year's recipient was Penn State running back Larry Johnson, who led the nation in rushing and all-purpose yardage and is currently a member of the Kansas City Chiefs.

Walter Camp, 'The Father of American football,' first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp a former Yale University athlete and football coach is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction ofplay to eleven men per side.

The Walter Camp Football Foundation a New Haven-based all-volunteer group was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

The 15 'Players to Watch' for the 2003 Walter Camp Player of the Year award include:

David Ball, DE, Sr., UCLA
Michael Boulware, LB, Sr., Florida State
Larry Fitzgerald, WR, Soph., Pittsburgh
Tommie Harris, DE, Jr., Oklahoma
Kevin Jones, RB, Jr., Virginia Tech
Matt Leinart, QB, Soph., USC
Eli Manning, QB, Sr., Mississippi
Chris Perry, RB, Sr., Michigan
Philip Rivers, QB, Sr., North Carolina State
Brad Smith, QB, Soph., Missouri
B.J. Symons, QB, Sr., Texas Tech
Michael Turner, RB, Sr., Northern Illinois
Jason White, QB, Sr., Oklahoma
Reggie Williams, WR, Jr., Washington
Rashaun Woods, WR, Sr, Oklahoma State

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder