Chad Marshall Named Semifinalist For M.A.C. Hermann Trophy

Nov. 13, 2003

Stanford, Calif. - Stanford sophomore defender Chad Marshall was named one of 15 semifinalists for the men's M.A.C. Hermann Trophy. The award is given to the most outstanding Division I men's soccer play as voted by coaches who are members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA), the official voting body of the M.A.C. Hermann Trophy.

Marshall has been a standout defender for the Cardinal in his two seasons on The Farm. Last season, the Riverside, CA native was named the Soccer America Freshman of the Year, while also earning Second Team All-Pac-10 honors.

Three finalists will be announced at the NCAA Men's College Cup, to be held the second weekend in December in Columbus, Ohio. Those finalists will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club on Friday, Jan. 9, 2004, for a news conference announcing the winner. A banquet that evening will include the formal presentation of the prestigious crystal soccer ball trophy to the winner.

Marshall is joined on the M.A.C. semifinalist list by Ryan Cochrane (Jr., D, Santa Clara/Portland, Ore.), Cesar Cuellar (Sr., F, Connecticut/Santa Cruz, Bolivia), Ned Grabavoy, Jr., F, Indiana/New Lenox, Ill.), Adolfo Gregorio (Sr., M, UCLA/Hillmar, Calif.), William Hesmer (Sr., G, Wake Forest/Wilson, N.C.), Sumed Ibrahim ( Sr., M, Maryland/Tamale, Ghana), C.J. Klaas (Jr., M, Washington/Cherry Valley, Ill.), Aaron Lopez (Jr., D/M, UCLA/Santa Barbara, Calif.), Guy Melamed (Jr., D, Boston College/Nofit, Israel), Joseph Ngweny (Sr., F, Coastal Carolina/Bulawayo, Zimbabwe), Abe Thompson (Jr., F, Maryland/Fairfax Station, Va.), David Wagenfuhr (Sr., M, Creighton/Colorado Springs, Colo.), Jeremiah White (Sr., F/M, Wake Forest, Lansdowne, Pa.), Chris Wingert (Sr., M, St. John's/Babylon, N.Y.).

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder