Nicole Barnhart Named Semifinalist for Hermann Trophy

Nov. 13, 2003

STANFORD, Calif. - Stanford All-American goalkeeper Nicole Barnhart is among 15 of the nation's most talented women's college soccer players selected as semifinalists for the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy, the highest individual award in intercollegiate competition.

Redshirt junior Barnhart, 2003 team co-captain, has started all 20 regular-season Stanford matches at goal, amassing 1,865 minutes of play. This season, Barnhart has tallied seven shutouts, 63 saves and a 0.78 goals against average. She holds the Cardinal record for career goals against average (.417). Barnhart earned Second-Team CoSIDA Academic all-District VIII honors this year.

The Hermann Trophy winner will be determined through balloting of Division I coaches who are members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA), the official voting body of the M.A.C.'s Hermann Trophy. Three finalists will be announced at the NCAA Women's College Cup, to be held the first weekend in December in Raleigh, N.C. Those finalists will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club on Friday, Jan. 9, 2004, for a news conference announcing the winner. A banquet that evening will include the formal presentation of the prestigious crystal soccer ball trophy to the winner.

This year's semifinalists include Chrissie Abbott (West Virginia), Barnhart (Stanford), Lori Chalupny (North Carolina), Keeley Dowling (Tennessee), Joanna Lohman (Penn State), Nandi Pryce (UCLA), Catherine Reddick (North Carolina), Aleisha Rose (Brigham Young), Caroline Smith (Kansas), Melissa Tancredi (Notre Dame), Lindsay Tarpley (North Carolina), Amy Warner (Notre Dame), Tiffany Weimer (Penn State), Kelly Wilson (Texas) and Veronica Zepeda (Santa Clara).

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder