Pryce, Ellis Earn Pac-10's Highest Honor

Nov. 13, 2003

Walnut Creek, Calif. - UCLA senior women' soccer player Nandi Pryce was named Pac-10 Co-Player of the Year, while head coach Jillian Ellis was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year, Conference Commissioner Tom Hansen announced Thursday.

Pryce, a defender from Casselberry, Fla., has played in all 20 matches for No. 2 UCLA, starting 19. She is a leader on a Bruin defense that ranks 17th nationally in shutout percentage (0.61) and 25th in goals against average (0.76). She has helped UCLA rank No. 1 in the Pac-10 in shutouts (11), goals allowed (16), and goals against average (0.76). Pryce, who becomes the Bruins' third Pac-10 Player of the year following Traci Arkenberg (1997) and Tracey Milburn (2000), has tallied three points on the year.

It is the first Pac-10 Coach of the Year honor for Ellis, who helped guide the Bruins to a 16-1-3 regular-season record in 2003. She recently led the Bruins to their fourth Pac-10 title (second during her tenure), finishing 8-0-1 in conference play. Ellis was named NSCAA/adidas National Coach of the Year back in 2000 after leading UCLA to the NCAA Final.

In addition to Pryce, four other Bruins earned All-Pac-10 honors Thursday, including first-team selections Whitney Jones, Sarah-Gayle Swanson and Iris Mora. Jill Oakes was a second-team selection.

Co-Pac-10 Players of the Year: Nandi Pryce (UCLA), Tina Frimpong (WASH)
Coach of the Year: Jillian Ellis (UCLA)
Freshman/Newcomer of the Year: Rosa Anna Tantillo (USC)

2003 PAC-10 All-Conference Women's Soccer Teams

FIRST TEAMName			Pos.	Yr.	SchoolTina Frimpong		F	Jr.	WASHAllyson Marquand**	MF	Sr.	STANNandi Pryce**		D	Sr.	UCLAIris Mora*		F	So.	UCLAAmy LePeilbet**		D	Sr.	ASUKim Yokers**		MF	Sr.	CALCandice Wilks		F	Jr.	ARIZWhitney Jones*		MF	Sr.	UCLASarah-Gayle Swanson**	F	Sr.	UCLAMegan Abbamonto**	MF	Sr.	USCNicole Barnhart*	GK	Jr.	STAN

SECOND TEAMName Pos. Yr. SchoolNicole Garbin MF So. OREManya Makoski* MF So. ASUMelissa Bennett* F Sr. UWTessa Baker F So. OSUNatalie Spilger D Sr. STANJill Oakes* MF So. UCLAStephanie Ebner D So. ASULindsey Peeples D Jr. ARIZBrittany Cooper MF So. ASUAshley Valenzuela MF Sr. CALJulie Peterson GK Jr. USC

*two-time All-Pac-10 honoree **three-time All-Pac-10 honoree

Rosa Anna Tantillo (USC, Fr., F); Mariette Boyce (WSU, Sr., D); Stacey Mescher (OSU, So., F); Hayley Hunt (STAN, So., D); Nadia Al-Lami (CAL, Fr., D); Mallory Miller (ARIZ, So., MF); Liz Bogus* (ASU, So., F); Alisan Pabon (STAN, Sr., D); Kim Taylor* (UW, So., F); Nikki Goza (USC, Jr., D); Katie Hultin (WSU, So., GK).

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder