Wildcats Defeat Trojans in Pac-10 Opener

Nov. 14, 2003

The University of Arizona men's and women's swimming and diving teams began their Pac-10 season with a pair of victories over the USC Trojans. The 14th ranked men's team defeated fifth-ranked USC with a score of 131 to 111 while the seventh-ranked women defeated the fifth-ranked lady Trojans with a score of 133 to 110.

The Arizona men's diving team dominated the boards, claiming the top two spots in the one-meter and three-meter events. Sophomore John Collier earned 18 points, winning first place in both events while senior Alex Vollelunga was not far behind in second place for both events.

'We crushed USC,' said head diving coach Michele Mitchell-Rocha. 'This was a little shocking, but not at all surprising because I knew we had the potential. I was really pleased.'

On the diving boards for the women, freshman Mary Yarrison took second place in both the one and three-meter events, earning eight points for the Wildcats. Senior Daniela Bemme placed third in the one meter and fourth in the three-meter events, contributing five points.

Starting things off for the men's swim team were sophomore Dave Rollins and seniors Greg Owen, Luis Rojas, and Eric La Fleur, who won the 400 meter relay in a time of 3:53.96.

Sophomore Lyndon Ferns swam his way to first place in the 50-meter freestyle with a time of 23.36, as well as the100 meter freestyle in a time of 51.26. Senior Juan Veloz earned 16 points, placing first in the 200 meter butterfly in a time of 2:05.12, second in the 200 Individual Medley, and third in the 400-meter freestyle.

Senior Greg Owen won first place in the 200-meter breaststroke in a time of 2:22.98, and junior Nate Stevens came in second in a time of 2:27.96. The 400 freestyle relay of seniors Luis Rojas and Eric La Fleur, sophomore Lyndon Ferns, and freshman Adam Ritter also placed first in a time of 3:30.19.

The Arizona women's swim team dominated the Trojans, earning first place in six events. Leading the Wildcats was junior Jessica Hayes, who won first place in both the 200 freestyle in a time of 2:04.78 and the 200 backstroke in a time of 2:16.45.

The 400 medley relay team of Jessica Hayes, senior Jessica Wagner, freshman Whitney Meyers and sophomore Marshi Smith won first place in a time of 4:17.95. Marshi Smith also took first place in the 50 freestyle in a time of 27.49. Senior Jessica Wagner swam a time of 2:37.29, where she earned first place in the 200 backstroke, and Junior Emily Mason won the 200 butterfly in a time of 2:16.90.

The Arizona women's swimming and diving team will continue their competition with UCLA tomorrow at 1 p.m. MST at Hillenbrand Aquatic Center on the University of Arizona campus.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder