Women's Cross Country Earns At-Large Bid to NCAA Championships

Nov. 17, 2003

TEMPE, Ariz. - The Arizona State women's cross country team earned its sixth-consecutive berth into the NCAA Cross Country Championships, the NCAA announced Monday. The Sun Devils, after finishing fourth at the NCAA West Region Championships Nov. 15, were selected as one of the 13 at-large teams to compete. The men, who placed eighth at the regional meet, did not make field of competition.

Ranked in the national polls all season and for 42 weeks in a row dating back to the 1998 season, the Sun Devil women will look to improve upon their 23rd-place finishes posted over the past two seasons. Amy Hastings (So., Leavenworth, Kan.) has led the team the entire season, winning two races and placing second, third and fourth in the other races, and will look to continue her success at nationals. Her second-place finish came last weekend at the regional meet.

In team history, the women's best performance came in 2000 with a sixth-place finish. All told, the Sun Devil women have finished tied for 23rd in 1998, 12th in 1999, sixth in 2000, 23rd in 2001 and tied for 23rd in 2002.

The NCAA Championships will be contested Monday, Nov. 24, on the Irv Warren Memorial Golf Course in Waterloo, Iowa, and be hosted by the University of Northern Iowa. The men's 10,000m run is set for an 11 a.m. Central start with the women's 6,000m race slated for 12:15 p.m. Central time.

Women's Team Qualifiers
Automatic Berths
Baylor, BYU, Colorado, Columbia, Florida State, Georgetown, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina State, Nebraska, North Carolina, Notre Dame, Princeton, Stanford, Tennessee, Texas and UCLA

At-Large Berths
Arizona State
, Colorado State, Duke, Indiana, Marquette, Michigan State, Northern Arizona, Penn State, UC Santa Barbara, Villanova, Wake Forest, Washington and Wisconsin

Men's Team Qualifiers
Automatic Berths
Arkansas, Cal Poly, Colorado, Florida State, Georgetown, Georgia, Iona, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, North Carolina State, Northern Arizona, Oklahoma State, Providence, Stanford, Texas A&M, Villanova and Wisconsin

At-Large Berths
Air Force, Arizona, BYU, Central Michigan, Colorado State, Indiana, Miami (Ohio), Ohio State, Oregon, Portland, Virginia, Washington and William & Mary

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder