Steven Jackson Named As Semifinalist For 2003 Doak Walker Award

Nov. 19, 2003

DALLAS, TEXAS - The SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors announced today the eight semifinalists for the 2003 Doak Walker Award. The annual award has recognized the top running back in college football since 1990.

The semifinalists (in alphabetical order) are:
Steven Jackson (Jr.) Oregon State
Kevin Jones (Jr.) Virginia Tech
Derrick Knight (Sr.) Boston College
Chris Perry (Sr.) Michigan
Darren Sproles (Jr.) Kansas State
Michael Turner (Sr.) Northern Illinois
Shaud Williams (Sr.) Alabama
Quincy Wilson (Sr.) West Virginia

'We are very fortunate to have such a strong group of running backs as semifinalists for the Doak Walker Award,' said Randall Goss, Chairman of the SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors, 'and also we congratulate all of the candidates who were nominated by their schools.'

The 144 members of the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast their votes this week to determine the 2003 recipient. On Monday, December 1, three finalists will be named, and, on Thursday, December 11, the recipient of the 2003 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on ESPN's The Home Depot College Football Awards.

The award will be presented at the 2003 Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet in Dallas on Thursday, February 12, 2004. Felix 'Doc' Blanchard and Glenn Davis, former Army star running backs, were jointly named the recipients of the 2003 PricewaterhouseCoopers Doak Walker Legends Award and will also be honored at the banquet.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder