Bruins Sweep Pac-10 Men's Soccer Awards

Nov. 20, 2003Nov. 20, 2003

Walnut Creek, Calif. - Pac-10 champions UCLA swept the conference's men's soccer awards and placed nine players on the All-Conference team, as senior forward Matt Taylor (Irvine, Calif.) earned Player of the Year honors, freshman forward Chad Barrett (Beaverton, Ore.) shared Co-Freshman of the Year acclaim, and Tom Fitzgerald was chosen the Coach of the Year.

Taylor is the leading scorer in the Pac-10 with 13 goals and 33 points. He also leads the league in game-winning goals with six. He averages 1.74 points per game, tied for 17th in the nation, and 0.68 goals per game, 18th-best in the nation. A two-time honorable mention All-Pac-10 selection entering this season, Taylor was twice named the Pac-10 Player of the Week this season (Sept. 2, Oct. 21) and the College Soccer News National Player of the Week (Oct. 19). He was a three-time Soccer America Team of the Week honoree. Taylor has blasted his way into the UCLA record books, setting a new school record with three career hat tricks, including a school-record tying two this season. He also tied the record for most multiple goal games in a season with four this year.

Barrett shares the Freshman of the Year award with Oregon State forward Robbie Findley. Barrett ranks second on the Bruin squad with nine goals, eight assists and 26 points. He leads the Pac-10 in shots (58) and shots per game (2.9 avg.), while his 1.30 points per game average is the league's third-best mark. His 26 points are the most by a Bruin freshman since Joe-Max Moore scored 32 in 1990. Barrett has one three-assist, one-goal game (vs. Penn State in his collegiate debut) and a three-assist, two-goal game against Cal State Fullerton to his credit. He was named to the Soccer America Team of the Week and the College Soccer News Team of the Week for Sept. 8-14.

In Fitzgerald's second year leading the UCLA program, the Bruins captured their second straight Pac-10 title and are the favorite (No. 1 seed) to repeat as national champions in the NCAA College Cup, which begins this week. Fitzgerald's 2003 squad became the first Pac-10 men's soccer team to run the table (10-0-0) in Conference play. The Bruins dominated the Pac-10, as they lead the league eight of nine statistical categories, including goals (49), points (155), assists (57), goals allowed (8) and goals against average (0.40). UCLA is also the nation's co-leader in shutout percentage, with 15 shutouts in 20 games (0.75) this season. Under his watch, the Bruins put together a 15-game winning streak from Sept. 7 to Nov. 9, and are unbeaten in their last 17 matches. His top-ranked Bruins also received the NCAA Tournament's No.1 seed for the first time since the organization began seeding the field in 1994. Fitzgerald's career record stands at 168-36-15 (.801), while his two-year UCLA record is 36-4-4 (.864).

Five Bruins earned first-team All-Pac-10 nods - senior midfielder Adolfo Gregorio (Hilmar, Calif.) for the third-straight year; senior defender Leonard Griffin (Palmdale, Calif.), an honorable mention choice a year ago; freshman defender Brandon Owens (Murietta, Calif.); Taylor; and senior goalkeeper Zach Wells (Costa Mesa, Calif.), a Pac-10 second-team selection in 2002 and 2001.

Second-team all-conference nods went to Barrett, junior defensive midfielder Aaron Lopez (Santa Barbara, Calif.) for the second-straight year and senior midfielder Ty Maurin (Chino, Calif.), who was an honorable mention selection last season. Senior defender/midfielder Dru Hoshimiya (South Pasadena, Calif.) earned honorable mention acclaim for the second time in his career.

2003 Pac-10 First Team All-Conference
F - Carl Acosta, Cal, Junior
F - Alan Gordon, OSU, Senior
F - Matt Taylor, UCLA, Senior
Mf - Adolfo Gregorio**, UCLA, Senior
Mf - C.J. Klaas**, Washington, Junior
Mf - Mike Munoz**, Cal, Junior
D - Leonard Griffin, UCLA, Senior
D - Chad Marshall*, Stanford, Sophomore
D - Brandon Owens, UCLA, Freshman
D - Troy Roberts*, Cal, Junior
Gk - Zach Wells**, UCLA, Senior

2003 Pac-10 Second Team All-Conference
F - Chad Barrett, UCLA, Freshman
F - Brian Farber, OSU, Senior
F - Robbie Findley, OSU, Freshman
F - Ryan Johnson, OSU, Sophomore
Mf - Ty Maurin, UCLA, Senior
Mf - Troy Ready, Washington, Senior
Mf/D - Mike Wilson, Stanford, Junior
D/Mf - Aaron Lopez, UCLA, Junior
D/Mf - Noah Merl, Cal, Junior
D - Ty Harden, Washington, Freshman
Gk - Daniel Waltman, Washington, Senior

*two-time All-Pac-10 honoree
**three-time All-Pac-10 honoree

2003 Pac-10 Honorable Mention All-Conference
Peter Billmeyer (Sr, GK, OSU); Michael Chabala (So, MF, WASH); Darren Fernandez (Jr, F/M, STAN); Robbie Fulton (Jr, GK, STAN); Abe Geiger (Sr, MF/D, STAN); Sean Giudice (Sr, F, WASH); Andrew Gregorio (Fr, MF, FSU); Nick Hatzke (So, M, CAL); Dru Hoshimiya (Sr, M, UCLA); Matt Janusz (Jr, F, STAN); Even McNeley (Jr, D, OSU); Kurt Ness (Sr, B, OSU); Mike Oseguera (So, GK, CAL); Steve Purdy (Fr, D/MF, CAL); Nino Rivas (Sr, D, FSU); Corey Sipos (Fr, D, FSU); Leo Totev (So, MF, WASH); James Twellman (Jr, F/D, STAN); Christian vanBlommestein (Sr, MF/B, OSU); Ernie Vega (Sr, MF, FSU); Tyson Wahl (So, M, CAL); Brett Wiesner (Jr, F, WASH).

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder