OSU Puts Eight Players On All-Pac-10 Squads

Nov. 20, 2003


Eight Oregon State men's soccer players were recognized by the Pacific-10 Conference on Thursday when the Pac-10 announced its 2003 all-conference teams.

Robbie Findley (fr., forward) was named co-Freshman/Newcomer of the Year and Alan Gordon (sr., forward) was tabbed for the first team for the second straight year.

Brian Farber (sr., for./mid.), Findley and Ryan Johnson (so., for.) garnered second-team selections, while Peter Billmeyer (sr., goal), Evan McNeley (jr., def.), Kurt Ness (sr., def.) and Christian vanBlommestein (sr., mid/def.) earned honorable mention.

Oregon State hosts Portland in a first-round NCAA College Cup match this Saturday, Nov. 22 at 12 noon.

After starting the season strong and finishing in the same fashion, Findley finished fourth in the Pac-10 with 22 points (10 goals, 2 assists) and his 10 goals were third; he was second on the team in both categories. His 22 points match the 10th-best single-season output in OSU history.

Findley's recognition marked the second year in a row a Beaver has been the Pac-10 Freshman/Newcomer of the Year; the late Joe Zaher earned the honor last year.

Gordon finished third in the conference scoring race, posting 25 points (11 goals, 3 assists), and was second with 11 goals. Gordon's 47 shots led the team and were third in the Pac-10.

Gordon ranks third in all-time scoring at OSU with 59 points in two years.

Farber's second-team selection is his first Pac-10 recognition since transferring to OSU from North Idaho College as a junior last year. Farber scored his first career goals this year and tallied five points.

Ryan Johnson led the nation in assists for much of the year, finishing the regular season with 13 to lead the Pac-10. He tacked on three goals in the final five games to finish sixth in Pac-10 scoring with 19 points. His 0.68 assists per game are sixth in the nation.

Billmeyer, Ness and vanBlommestein - the three team captains - each earned the third honorable mention of their careers.

Billmeyer owns the OSU career records for shutouts (15) and saves (334) as well as the season-saves mark (100 in 2002). His 1.30 goals-against average is a career-best.

Ness and vanBlommestein were part of a backfield that shut out five opponents this season.

McNeley earned honorable mention in his first year as a Beaver after transferring from Seattle University, totaling nine points (3 goals, 3 assists).

In all, only three of OSU's starters were not chosen for Pac-10 honors, including Ross Duncan (sr., def./mid.), who tallied a career-high 10 assists and 12 points overall.

Duncan's 10 assists are the second-most in a season at OSU, and his 0.53 assists per game are tied for 21st nationally.

Nick Donaldson (sr., mid.), who often marked the opponents' top midfield threat, started 14 of his 19 games played and had one assist.

Matt Johnson (so., for.), a Pac-10 honorable mention last year, started 13 of the 19 games he played and tallied six points (2 goals, 2 assists).

Findley shared the freshman/newcomer award with UCLA's Chad Barrett, and the Bruins' Matt Taylor was named Player of the Year after leading the conference in scoring with 33 points.

UCLA coach Tom Fitzgerald earned Pac-10 Coach of the Year.


Freshman/Newcomer of the Year

Robbie Findley (freshman, forward)

First team

Alan Gordon (senior, forward)

Second team

Brian Farber (senior, forward/midfield)

Robbie Findley (freshman, forward)

Ryan Johnson (sophomore, forward)

Honorable mention

Peter Billmeyer (senior, goalkeeper)

Evan McNeley (junior, defense)

Kurt Ness (senior, defense)

Christian vanBlommestein (senior, defense)

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:45 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network