Stanford Dominates Pac-10 Football All-Academic Team with 25 Selections

Nov. 20, 2003

Stanford football dominated the Pacific-10 Conference All-Academic team announced today as 25 members of the 2003 Cardinal earned recognition, including eight First-Team selections, eight Second-Team selections and nine honorable mention picks.

The Cardinal more than doubled the number of All-Academic selections by any other conference member. Two Stanford players earned First-Team recognition for the second straight year: offensive tackle Kirk Chambers and linebacker Kevin Schimmelmann.

The other First-Team selections included quarterback Kyle Matter, FB Cooper Blackhurst, WR Brandon Royster, NT Babatunde Oshinowo, MLB Brian Gaffney and CB Leigh Torrence

Earning Second-Team All-Academic were WR Greg Camarillo, WR Nick Sebes, OT Matt McClernan, DE Louis Hobson, NT Ian Shelswell, DE Will Svitek, MLB David Bergeron and OLB Mike Silva.

Honorable mention selections were OG David Beall, OT Jon Cochran, RB Gerald Commissiong, RB J.R. Lemon, C Tim Mattran, PK Michael Sgroi, TE Alex Smith, OT Mike Sullivan and OG Josiah Vinson.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder