Beavers Wrestle To Four Titles

Nov. 22, 2003

MEDFORD, Ore. - Four Oregon State wrestlers won championships Saturday at the Southern Oregon Open. OSU 141-pounder Kyle Larson, 157-pounder Brian Duhrkoop, 165-pounder Matt Ellis and 197-pounder Jed Lowe all placed first at the non-scoring tournament.

The Beavers competed unattached on Saturday, but results from their matches against wrestlers from four-year schools count toward season records and conference and national seeding. The next action for OSU (0-1 overall, 0-0 Pacific-10) will be next Friday at the Hawai'i Duals.

Oregon State wrestlers earned 12 places at the Southern Oregon Open. In addition to the four champions, OSU got second-place finishes from 125-pounder Eric Stevenson, 141-pounder Clint Leonard and 184-pounder Dan Pitsch; and third-place finishes from 133-pounder Bobby Pfennigs, 141-pounder Mike Unger Jr., 149-pounder Orlando Perez, 174-pounder Jed Pennell and heavyweight Ty Watterson.

Beaver 149-pounder Tony Hook was unbeaten when he had to injury default out of the tournament in the middle rounds due to a cut near one of his eyes. Stevenson was beaten 4-1 in the finals by two-time freestyle world champion Vougar Ourdjov, who is now coaching at Lassen Community College.

'I thought we wrestled pretty tough,' OSU head coach Joe Wells said. 'We went out and got after it and controlled most of the matches. In some cases we let a couple slip away from us. In most cases, where we got beat, got beat buy guys who are a little more experienced and a little better right now. We've just got to improve, and we can do that. I liked our attitude, the way we fought, and I liked our conditioning. We weren't standing around when we were behind; that was a good sign.'

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder