McArthur, McCleskey Named Team MVPs At Cal Football Banquet

Nov. 23, 2003

BERKELEY, CALIF. - Wide receiver Geoff McArthur, who set the school's single season receiving yardage record this season, and defensive back Donnie McCleskey, whose 99 tackles were the most by a defensive back in a season in Cal history, were named team offensive and defensive most valuable players, respectively, at the University of California football banquet, held at the Oakland Marriott Sunday evening.

McArthur, who also ranked second nationally in receiving yards this year, caught 85 passes for 1,504 yards and 10 touchdowns. His 85 receptions ranked second on Cal's single season reception list. McArthur, who broke the Big Game record for most receptions with 16 catches for 245 yards yesterday, also set school marks by posting seven 100-yard receiving games and five 150-yard efforts this season. Only a junior, he finished the regular season ranked No. 2 in receiving yards (2,426) and No. 5 in receptions (145) on the Bears' career charts.

McCleskey, the sophomore leader of one of the Pac-10's most improved defenses, enjoyed a banner year at Cal. He became the first defensive back in Cal annals to make as many as 99 tackles in a season, while also leading all conference defensive backs in both sacks (5.5) and tackles for loss (12 for 49 yards). His 5.5 sacks were also a school record for a DB.

  • Dink Artal Award (Player best exemplifying Cal Spirit)-James Bethea
  • Ken Harvey Award (Player showing special academic commitment & improvement)-Eli Thompson
  • Frank J Schlessinger Coaches Award (Player who demonstrates outstanding athletic ability, academic success & community service)-Chris Murphy
  • Ken Cotton Award (Most Courageous Player)-Tosh Lupoi
  • Stub Allison Award (Most Inspirational Player)-Vincent Strang
  • Joe Roth Award (Player best exemplifying courage, attitude & sportsmanship)-Josh Beckham
  • Andy Smith Award (Player with the most Big 'C' time)-Chris Murphy
  • Strength Award-Brandon Hall (Senior Lifter of the Year) and Greg Van Hoesen (Freshman Lifter of the Year)Big Hit Award (Player registering the most 'Big Hits' during the season)-Ryan Gutierrez
  • Scout Team Player of the Year-Craig Stevens (Offense), Steve Kelly (Defense) and Terrell Williams (Special Teams)
  • Berkeley Breakfast Club Award (Outstanding Player in the Big Game)-Geoff McArthur and Aaron Rodgers

    Defensive back Donnie McCleskey

  • Bob Tessier Award (Most improved lineman)-Marvin Philip (offense) and Monte Parson (defense)
  • Most Improved Player-Geoff McArthur
  • Bob Simmons Award (Most Valuable Freshman)-Daymeion Hughes
  • Most Valuable Back-Adimchinobe Echemandu
  • J. Scott Duncan Award (Most Valuable Special Teams Player)-Mike McGrath
  • Brick Muller Award (Most Valuable Lineman)-Mark Wilson (offense) and Lorenzo Alexander (defense)
  • Bear Backer Award (Most Valuable Player)-Geoff McArthur (offense) and Donnie McCleskey (defense)
  • Cort Majors Award (Team Captains)-Adimchinobe Echemandu and Aaron Rodgers (offense), Lorenzo Alexander and Donnie McCleskey (defense)
  • Categories:
    Now on Pac-12 Network
    3:00 PM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    Get Pac-12 Networks
    Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder