Arizona State Cross Country Lands 13 on Pac-10 All-Academic Teams

Nov. 25, 2003

Pac-10 All-Academic Release (pdf)

TEMPE, Ariz. - Thirteen members of the Arizona State men's and women's cross country team earned Pac-10 All-Academic accolades, the conference announced Tuesday. Jeremy Cramer (Fr., Boise, Idaho) and Amanda Lyon (So., Phoenix) each earned positions on the men's and women's first team, respectively, while Ryan Warrenburg (So., Franklin, Ind.) and Jessica Scalzo (So., Snoqualmie, Wash.) earned second-team selections. In all, four men and four women earned the first conference academic honors of their Sun Devil careers.

The 13 combined selections are the third-most in a single season in program history, trailing the 16 selections in both 2000 and 2001. On the men's side, the six selections ties the most in a single season as the 2001 team also had six. The women saw seven of their members earn academic honors, tying for the third-most in school history behind the 11 chosen in 2000 and the 10 selected in 2001.

Cramer's selection to the first team made him the first Sun Devil man to earn a spot on the top team since Garrett Jensen in 2000 and just the third overall. Lyon became the ninth first-team selection for ASU's women and continued a streak of five years in a row with at least one women earning first-team honors.

Lyon and Scalzo were joined on the academic list by honorable mention selections of Alvina Begay (Sr., Ganado, Ariz.), Desiree Davila (Jr., Chula Vista, Calif.), Amy Hastings (So., Leavenworth, Kan.), Liz Lindgren (So., Klamath Falls, Ore.) and Jenna Wrieden (So., Glendale, Ariz.). Lyon (second team), Davila (honorable mention) and Begay (honorable mention) each earned their second academic honor after being selected in 2002 while Scalzo, Hastings, Lindgren and Wrieden each received the first selections of their careers.

Joining Cramer on the men's all-academic teams were second-team selection Warrenburg and honorable mention selections Jay DeGroot (Jr., Gilbert, Ariz.), Griffin Lee (So., Shawnee, Kan.), Dan Maher (Sr., Tucson, Ariz.) and Juan Reyes (Jr., Phoenix). The selection for Maher was the fourth of his career as he earned honorable mention honors in 2000, 2001 and 2002. Reyes earned the second academic accolade of his Sun Devil career (2001 honorable mention) while Cramer, Warrenburg, DeGroot and Lee each earned their first selections to the conference's academic squad.

To be eligible for selection to the Pac-10 All-Academic teams, a student-athlete must hold a 3.0 grade point average or higher and be in their second season with the program. Also, the runner must be a starter or significant reserve/contributor to the team. UCLA's women led the conference with 11 selections followed by seven each from ASU, Arizona and Washington. On the men's side, Stanford saw 12 of its runners earn academic accolades with Washington (eight), ASU (six) and Oregon (six) following.

The 2003 season concluded one day ago (Monday, Nov. 28) with the women capturing 14th place at the NCAA Championships in Waterloo, Iowa. Hastings and Davila each earned All-America honors as the team accumulated 406 points to post the third-best point total and team finish in school history. Their point total also was one better than intrastate rival Northern Arizona (406-407).

Arizona State's 2003 Pac-10 All-Academic Selections
Amanda Lyon - First Team
Jessica Scalzo - Second Team
Alvina Begay - Honorable Mention
Desiree Davila - Honorable Mention
Amy Hastings - Honorable Mention
Liz Lindgren - Honorable Mention
Jenna Wrieden - Honorable Mention

Jeremy Cramer - First Team
Ryan Warrenburg - Second Team
Jay DeGroot - Honorable Mention
Griffin Lee - Honorable Mention
Dan Maher - Honorable Mention
Juan Reyes - Honorable Mention

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder