Cougars Land 17 On All-Pac-10 Team

Dec. 1, 2003

PULLMAN, Wash. --- Washington State seniors Erik Coleman, Jason David, Drew Dunning, and Josh Parrish, and sophomore Will Derting were named first team All-Pac-10 Monday, while Cougar Head Coach Bill Doba earned conference Co-Coach of the Year honors along with USC's Pete Carroll.

The Cougars landed 11 players on the first and second team, while six more earned honorable mention.

Quarterback Matt Kegel, running back Jonathan Smith, and tight end Troy Bienemann represented WSU's offense on the second team, while defensive end D.D. Acholonu and middle linebacker Don Jackson took home second team honors from the Cougar defense. Sammy Moore was named to the second unit as a kick returner.

Coleman, a senior from Spokane, Wash., recorded 82 tackles and led the Pac-10 with seven interceptions this season. The free safety was also one of the Cougars' top special teams performers, blocking a punt against Arizona State and forcing a key fumble on a return play against UCLA.

David racked up six interceptions in 2003 to bring his career total to 16, good for second on WSU's all-time list in that category. The Covina, Calif., native also recorded 49 tackles, including four behind the line. David earned Pac-10 honorable mention as a junior.

Dunning became Washington State's all-time leading scorer in his final regular season game. The Issaquah, Wash., native connected on 27 of 30 field goals in 2003 and broke his own record for points in a single season with 114, bringing his career total 334. Dunning was also named to the Pac-10's first team as a sophomore in 2001.

Parrish capped his WSU career by starting all 12 games in 2003. The 6-7, 324-pound guard earned All-Pac-10 honorable mention in 2001 and has started 36 games on the offensive line since joining the program in 1999.

Derting, the Cougars' lone underclassman on the first team, had a breakout sophomore campaign. The Okanogan, Wash., native racked up 82 tackles, including 11 behind the line and 6.5 sacks. Derting earned Pac-10 Player of the Week twice in 2003 following outings against Notre Dame and Oregon State.

Doba put together the best season for a rookie Cougar coach since 1926 when O.E. Hollingbery guided WSU to a 6-1 mark. Doba will take the program to its third-consecutive bowl game and has a shot to take the Cougs to the 10-win plateau for the third-straight season.

Senior defensive tackles Faafetai Tupai and Jeremey Williams, senior strong safety Virgil Williams, junior offensive tackle Calvin Armstrong, junior wide receiver Devard Darling, and sophomore punter Kyle Basler received honorable mention.

Washington State's 17 players on the first and second teams, and receiving honorable mention were the most in the conference. USC had 16, including the Offensive Player of the Year Matt Leinart.

UCLA's Dave Ball was named Defensive Player of the Year, while Oregon State cornerback Brandon Browner earned conference Freshman of the Year.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder