Dave Ball Named Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year

Dec. 1, 2003

UCLA senior defensive end Dave Ball, the national leader in quarterback sacks, has been named the Pacific-10 Conference Defensive Player of the Year by vote of the league's coaches, it was announced today.

On the year, he leads the UCLA defensive line with 54 tackles (fifth on the team), including a school-record and national best 16.5 sacks and 20.5 tackles for loss, both team highs. He also leads the team with five forced fumbles.

Ball is one of five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Award, presented annually to the nation's top defensive player. He is also one of four finalists for the Rotary Lombardi Award, presented to the nation's top lineman, and one of six finalists for the Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award.

Ball and senior linebacker Brandon Chillar were both named first-team All-Pacific-10 Conference. Chillar leads the Bruins with 127 tackles and his average of 10.6 tackles per game ranks No. 1 in the Pac-10.

Nine Bruins were named All-Pac-10 honorable mention: wide receiver Craig Bragg, kick returner Maurice Drew, offensive guard Eyoseph Efseaff, linebacker Spencer Havner, punter Chris Kluwe, defensive tackle Rodney Leisle, linebacker Justin London, place kicker Justin Medlock and safety Jarrad Page.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder