Echemandu, Wilson, McCleskey Named First Team All-Pac-10

Dec. 1, 2003

BERKELEY - Three Cal players - TB Adimchinobe Echemandu, OT Mark Wilson and ROV Donnie McCleskey - were named to the first team All-Pac-10 team, the conference office announced Monday. In addition, WR Geoff McArthur was voted to the second team.

Echemandu, a senior in his first year as a full-time starter, ranks second in the conference in rushing with 1,161 yards, an average of 96.8 ypg. He has a high of 201 yards against Arizona, and he has topped the 100-yard mark five times during the season.

Wilson, an honorable mention choice last year, has started every game during his four-year career at left tackle for the Bears.

McCleskey, one of five sophomores to earn first-team status, has 99 total tackles, and his 12.0 tackles for loss are tops in the league among defensive backs.

McArthur caught 85 passes for a school-record 1,504 yards and 10 touchdowns. He also set a school record when he snared 16 receptions for 245 yards in the Big Game.

In addition, six Golden Bears were honorable mention: DT Lorenzo Alexander, SAF Ryan Gutierrez, LB Wendell Hunter, Mike McGrath (special teams), OT Chris Murphy and QB Aaron Rodgers.

USC quarterback Matt Leinart was voted Pac-10 Offensive Player of the Year, UCLA defensive end Dave Ball was the Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year, Oregon State cornerback Brandon Browner was the Freshman of the Year, and USC's Pete Carroll and Washington State's Bill Doba were the Co-Coaches of the Year.

For a complete look at the All-Pac-10 team, click here.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder