Four Stanford Football Players Named Second-Team All-Pac-10

Dec. 1, 2003

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Seniors Kirk Chambers, Luke Powell and Eric Johnson and junior Oshiomogho Atogwe today were named Second-Team All-Pac-10 in a vote by the conference coaches. Six other Cardinal players earned honorable mention recognition.

Chambers, who started all 45 games of his Cardinal career at left tackle, was named to the Second-Team Offense while Atogwe, Stanford's leading tackler in 2003, was chosen to the Second-Team Defense. Powell and Johnson were named Second-Team Specialists with Powell being honored as a punt returner and Johnson as a punter.

Chambers was and the cornerstone of a young offensive line for the Cardinal in 2003. A First-Team Academic All-Pac-10 selection as well, Chambers is one of only a handful of players in Stanford football history to have started every game in his career.

Atogwe not only led the Cardinal in tackles, but he led the conference in fumbles caused with six and fumble recoveries with six and his 8.2 tackles per game average ranked fourth in the Pac-10. He was recently named the team's co-MVP along with Powell

Powell, who led Stanford with 45 receptions, averaged 9.0 on punt returns in 2003 and finished his career among the school's all-time best in receptions, receiving yards, all-purpose yards and punt return average. Johnson set two school records for punting in 2003 with 86 punts for 3,687 yards. His 42.9 average was also among the best in school history.

Earning All-Pac-10 honorable mention recognition for the Cardinal was MLB David Bergeron, OLB Jared Newberry, NT Babatunde Oshinowo, TE Brett Pierce, TE Alex Smith and CB Leigh Torrence.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder