Nine Sun Devils Named To All-Pac-10 Football Teams

Dec. 1, 2003

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - The Pacific-10 Conference released its All-Pac-10 Football Team today with a total of nine Sun Devils being named to the second-team and honorable mention squads. Senior offensive lineman Regis Crawford (San Diego, Calif.), sophomore offensive lineman Grayling Love (Sacramento, Calif.), junior safety Riccardo Stewart (La Verne, Calif.) and junior free safety Jason Shivers (Phoenix, Ariz.) all earned second-team recognition. Shivers was named to the team as a special teams player.

Honorable mention awards went to senior wide receiver Skyler Fulton (Olympia, Wash.), sophomore wide receiver Derek Hagan (Palmdale, Calif.), senior fullback Mike Karney (Kent, Wash.), senior punter Tim Parker (Chula Vista, Calif.) and junior quarterback Andrew Walter (Grand Junction, Colo.).

Crawford and Love anchored an ASU offensive line that finished the season third in the conference in fewest sacks allowed (25) and helped the offense to a rank of 23rd in the country in passing (274.3 ypg). Stewart finished the year with 84 tackles, six-and-a-half for loss, 3 interceptions and two forced fumbles. Shivers was recognized for his outstanding special teams play and, combined with his 11 starts at free safety, finished the year second in the league in tackles with 104 (9.5 per game).

Fulton led the Sun Devils in scoring this year with 10 touchdowns and had 901 receiving yards, while Hagan was ASU's leading receiver with 1,076 yards, good for fifth in the conference, and nine touchdowns. Karney started all 10 games in which he played and solidified himself as one of the top fullbacks in the Pac-10, as only he and Washington fullback Zach Tuiasosopo, another honorable mention selection, made their way onto any of the All-Pac-10 Teams at this position.

Parker finished third in the Pac-10 in punting with an average of 43.4 yards per punt, which placed him 22nd in the nation. Twenty-three of his punts were inside the opponents' 20-yard line. Walter ended the season with over 3,000 passing yards for the second straight year, as he racked up 3,044 yards on 221 of 421 passing and had 24 touchdowns. His average of 253.7 yards passing per game places him third in the conference.

Quarterback Matt Leinart of USC and defensive end Dave Ball of UCLA were named Pac-10 Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year. In addition, cornerback Brandon Browner of Oregon State was named Freshman of the Year and Pete Carroll of USC and Bill Doba of Washington State shared Coach of the Year honors.

The All-Pac-10 Team is selected by the Pac-10 head football coaches. USC placed the most players on the first team with nine selections. Washington State was next with five, followed by Oregon and Oregon State with four each. Of the 29 first-team selections, 16 are seniors, eight are juniors and five are sophomores. Nofreshmen made the first team. Four players--DE Dave Ball of UCLA, CB Jason David of Washington State, TB Steven Jackson of Oregon State and OT Jacob Rogers of USC--were named on the first team ballots of all 10coaches.

To view the entire All-Pac-10 team, visit the Official Pac-10 Website.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder