Arizona Swimmers post 11 NCAA qualifying times

Dec. 4, 2003

AUSTIN, Texas- In the first day of competition at the 2003 Texas Invitational, the University of Arizona men's and women's swimming teams earned 11 qualifying times for the NCAA championships.

Individually for the men, sophomore Lyndon Ferns won the 50-meter freestyle (22.32) and the 100-meter butterfly (46.71), to earn an automatic qualification time for the NCAA championships.

The Arizona men's relay teams posted two relay NCAA consideration times. The 200-yard freestyle medley of Ferns, senior Eric La Fleur, senior Luis Rojas and junior Byron Jeffers, won with a time of 1:18.93. The 400-yard medley relay of sophomore Dave Rollins, senior Greg Owen, Luis Rojas and Ferns placed second with a time of 3:12.05. Rojas also received an NCAA consideration time in the 100 butterfly with a time of 47.58.

Five Arizona women's times qualified for the NCAA championships. The 400-yard medley relay of sophomore Jenna Gresdal, senior Jessica Wagner, freshman Whitney Myers and sophomore Marshi Smith won their race with a qualifying time of 3:40.000.

Individually for the women, Whitney Myers qualified for NCAA championships in two events, the 200-yard Individual Medley (2:00.18) and the 100-yard butterfly (53.31). Junior Emily Mason won the 500-yard freestyle (4:42.02) also qualifying her for the NCAA championships.

The Wildcats will continue competition at the Texas Invitational on Friday, Dec. 5. Preliminary action starts at 10 a.m., and finals will begin at 6 p.m.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder