Cross Country Honors

Dec. 4, 2003

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- STANFORD's Ryan Hall and Sara Bei were named the Pacific-10 Conference Cross Country Athletes of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Hall, a junior from Big Bear Lake, Calif., paced the Stanford men to their second straight NCAA Championship crown, and fourth overall, with a second-place showing. He also took second at the NCAA West Region Championships. His second-place finish at the NCAA Championships was instrumental in the Cardinal collecting a team score of 24 points to easily outdistance the field by 150 points. It was the largest margin of victory in Championships history. The team score was the second-best showing in Championships history, trailing only the 17 points scored by UTEP in 1981.

Bei, a junior from Santa Rosa, Calif., took top honors at the Pac-10 Championships and then placed third at both the NCAA West Region and NCAA Championships. Her third-place finish helped cap a Stanford performance that witnessed the Cardinal winning both the men's and women's titles in the same year for the second time in school history. In fact, it's only happened three times in Championships history (Wisconsin 1985, and Stanford 1996, 2003).

ARIZONA freshman Robert Cheseret, from Kapsabet, Kenya, was named the Men's Cross Country Newcomer of the Year. He was the top placing freshman at the Pac-10 Championships, finishing third. He also placed third at the NCAA West Region, helping the Wildcats to a third-place finish and earn an at-large berth in the NCAA Championships.

STANFORD freshman Arianna Lambie, from Harvard, Mass., was named the Women's Cross Country Newcomer of the Year. Lambie, who finished third at the Pac-10 Championships - tops among all Pac-10 freshmen, was key in leading the Stanford women to its eighth straight Pac-10 title. She finished 23rd at the NCAA Championships as the Cardinal captured their second NCAA title.

Also announced were the Conference Coach of the Year honors. Stanford's Andrew Gerard was named men's Coach of the Year, while Stanford's Dena Evans was named women's Coach of the Year.

Gerard captures the men's coaching honor in his first season at Stanford. The Cardinal men won their seventh Pac-10 title in the last eight years, easily outdistancing the field by a 68-point margin of victory. It was the largest margin of victory ever in the men's competition. The Cardinal also took first place at the NCAA West Regionals and capped off the 2003 season with their fourth NCAA title.

Evans, also in her first season as head coach, earns Coach of the Year on the women's side. The Cardinal won their eighth consecutive Pac-10 title with a 56-point margin of victory over Arizona State, took the team title at the NCAA West Region and captured their second national title at the NCAA Championships.

The honors were decided by a vote of the Conference's cross country coaches.


First Team
Ian Dobson, Sr., Stanford
Grant Robison, Sr., Stanford
Robert Cheseret, Fr., Arizona
Donald Sage, Sr., Stanford
Jonah Maiyo, Jr., Arizona
Brett Holts, Sr., Oregon
Chris Emme, Jr., Stanford

Second Team
Eric Logsdon, Jr., Oregon
Adam Tenforde, Sr., Stanford
Eric Garner, Sr., Washington
Ryan Andrus, Jr., Oregon
Seth Hejny, Sr., Stanford
Andrew Hill, Sr., Stanford
Ian Johnson, Sr., Washington State

Athlete of the Year
Ryan Hall, Jr., Stanford

Newcomer of the Year
Robert Cheseret, Fr., Arizona

Coach of the Year
Andrew Gerard, Stanford


First Team
Sara Bei, Jr., Stanford
Alicia Craig, Jr., Stanford
Arianna Lambie, Fr., Stanford
Amy Hastings, So., Arizona State
Magdalena Sandoval, Sr., Oregon
Katy Trotter, Fr., Stanford
Valerie Flores, Sr., UCLA

Second Team
Iryna Vashchuk, So., USC
Ingvill Makestad, So., Washington
Amanda Trotter, Fr., Stanford
Anna Masinelli, So., Arizona State
Desiree Davila, Jr., Arizona State
Bridget Duffy, So., California
Ashley Caldwell, Fr., UCLA

Athlete of the Year
Sara Bei, Jr., Stanford

Newcomer of the Year
Arianna Lambie, Fr., Stanford

Coach of the Year
Dena Evans, Stanford

* - All-Conference teams determined by order of finish at the Pac-10 Championships.


MENYear Athlete of the Year Newcomer of the Year Coach of the Year2003 Ryan Hall, STAN Robert Cheseret, ARIZ Andrew Gerard, STAN2002 Grant Robison, STAN Neil Davis, STAN Vin Lananna, STAN2001 Donald Sage, STAN J.J. Duke, ASU Vin Lananna, STAN2000 Jonathon Riley, STAN Donald Sage, STAN Vin Lananna, STAN1999 Steve Fein, ORE Jason Hartmann, ORE Dave Murray, ARIZ1998 Abdi Abdirahman, ARIZ Bill Dellinger, ORE1997 Meb. Keflezighi, UCLA Vin Lananna, STAN1996 Meb. Keflezighi, UCLA Vin Lananna, STAN1995 Karl Keska, ORE Bill Dellinger, ORE1994 Martin Keino, ARIZ Dave Murray, ARIZ1993 Josephat Kapkory, WSU Mike Johnson, WASH1992 Josephat Kapkory, WSU Bill Dellinger, ORE1991 Martin Keino, ARIZ Dave Murray, ARIZ1990 Marc Davis, ARIZ Bill Dellinger, ORE1989 Marc Davis, ARIZ Bill Dellinger, ORE1988 Brad Hudson, ORE Bill Dellinger, ORE1987 Matt Giusto, ARIZ Dave Murray, ARIZ1986 Aaron Ramirez, ARIZ Dave Murray, ARIZ1985 Marc Olesen, STAN Brooks Johnson, STAN1984 Tom Ansberry, ARIZ Dave Murray, ARIZ1983 Jim Hill, ORE Dave Murray, ARIZ1982 Jim Hill, ORE Bill Dellinger, ORE1981 Richard Tuwei, WSU Bob Larsen, UCLA1980 Ron Cornell, UCLA Bob Larsen, UCLA1979 Henry Rono, WSU Bill Dellinger, ORE1978 Alberto Salazar, ORE Bill Dellinger, ORE1977 Henry Rono, WSU Bill Dellinger, ORE1976 Henry Rono, WSU Bill Dellinger, ORE1975 Joshua Kimeto, WSU John Chaplin, WSU

WOMENYear Athlete of the Year Newcomer of the Year Coach of the Year2003 Sara Bei, STAN Arianna Lambie, STAN Dena Evans, STAN2002 Alicia Craig, STAN Jessica Scalzo, ASU Vin Lananna, STAN2001 Tara Chaplin, ARIZ Sara Bei, STAN Dave Murray, ARIZ2000 Lisa Aguilera, ASU Victoria Chang, STAN Walt Drenth, ASU1999 Erin Sullivan, STAN Erin Sullivan, STAN Walt Drenth, ASU1998 Amy Skieresz, ARIZ Beth Alford-Sullivan, STAN1997 Amy Skieresz, ARIZ Vin Lananna/Beth Alford-Sullivan, STAN1996 Amy Skieresz, ARIZ Vin Lananna/Beth Alford-Sullivan, STAN1995 Amy Skieresz, ARIZ Tom Heinonen, ORE1994 Karen Hecox, UCLA Vin Lananna, STAN1993 Karen Hecox, UCLA Vin Lananna, STAN1992 Louise Watson, STAN Mike Johnson, WASH1991 Lisa Karnopp, ORE Tom Heinonen, ORE1990 Liz Wilson, ORE Tom Heinonen, ORE1989 Jennifer Robertson, WSU Mike Johnson, WASH1988 Penny Graves, ORE Tom Heinenon, ORE1987 Anette Hand, ORE Tom Heinenon, ORE1986 Penny Graves, ORE Tom Heinenon, ORE

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder