Sun Devil Trio Earn Selections to All-Pac-10 Cross Country Team

Dec. 4, 2003

Complete Pac-10 Release (pdf)

TEMPE, Ariz. - Three members of the Arizona State women's cross country team earned All-Pac-10 honors Thursday, conference commissioner Tom Hansen announced. Amy Hastings (So., Leavenworth, Kan.), Anna Masinelli (So., Scottsdale, Ariz.) and Desiree Davila (Jr., Chula Vista, Calif.) each earned selections based upon their finishes at the 2003 Pac-10 Cross Country Championships. The Top 7 finishers of both the men's and women's races earn first team honors with runners finishing eighth through 14th earning second team accolades.

Hastings, who placed fourth overall and was the first non-Stanford runner to cross the finish line, earned a spot on the first team making her just the seventh woman to earn a spot on the team. She joins Jessica Scalzo (So., Snoqualmie, Wash.) in 2002; Lisa Aguilera in 2000 and 1999; Priscilla Hein in 1998; Lynn Nelson in 1983 and Sabrina Peters in 1982.

Masinelli finished 11th and Davila 12th to earn second team honors. The honor is the first for Masinelli while Davila garnered a spot on the second team for the second season in a row. Hastings' accolade was her second in as many years as she was a second team selection a year ago.

Overall, the three selections ties for the most in one season for the women with three harriers being selected in the 2002, 2001, 1999 and 1982 seasons. All of the seasons, except for 2001, saw one Sun Devil earn first team honors and two earn second team. In 2001, three runners were second team honorees.

Stanford swept the women's top honors as conference champion Sara Bei was named Athlete of the Year and teammate Arianna Lambie, the top freshman finisher in the race, earned Newcomer of the Year. Cardinal head coach Dena Evans was named coach of the year. On the men's side, Ryan Hall was named top athlete and Arizona's Robert Cheseret top newcomer. Stanford's Andrew Gerard was selected as coach of the year. All of the top honors were selected by votes collected from each conference coach.

Arizona State's 2003 All-Pac-10 Selections
First Team - Amy Hastings
Second Team - Anna Masinelli
Second Team - Desiree Davila

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder