Dave Ball Named Defensive Winner of Morris Trophy

Dec. 5, 2003

Defensive end Dave Ball of UCLA and offensivetackle Jacob Rogers of USC have been named winners of the 24th annualMorris Trophy.

The Morris Trophy is a unique award given to the outstanding offensiveand defensive linemen in the Pacific-10 Conference. What makes theaward unique is the selection procedure, which has the startingoffensive linemen in the Conference voting for the defensive winner andvice versa. It is truly a players' award.

Ball, a 6-foot-6, 275-pound senior from Dixon, Calif., is the nationalleader in quarterback sacks with 16.5. He leads the Pac-10 in tacklesfor loss (20.5) as well as sacks and ranks second in the Conference infumbles forced with five. His 16.5 quarterback sacks established aUCLA season record and he also holds the Bruin career record at 30.5.Ball has already been named a first-team All-America selection by boththe American Football Coaches Association and the Football WritersAssociation of America. He was a unanimous All-Pac-10 selection andwas voted the Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year by the league's headcoaches. He is a finalist for three major awards--the Bronko NagurskiAward (top defensive player), the Rotary Lombardi Awards (top lineman)and the Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder