Wildcats Complete Texas Invitational

Dec. 6, 2003

Austin, Texas - The University of Arizona men's and women's swimming teams completed their three-day competition at the 2003 Texas Invitational on Saturday Dec. 6, with Sophomore Lyndon Ferns breaking two records in the meet for Arizona.

Ferns swam the 100-yard freestyle in 42.40, breaking the Arizona school record held by NCAA champion Ronald Schoeman, who set the record of 42.56 in 2000. Ferns later broke the 49-second mark swimming the 100-meter freestyle in 48.99, breaking the South African national record held by former Arizona Wildcat Ryk Meesling.

Seniors Luis Rojas and Eric La Fleur posted NCAA championship qualifying times in the 100-yard freestyle with times of 43.17 and 43.47 respectively. Senior Juan Veloz also posted an NCAA championship qualifying time in the 200-yard butterfly with a mark of 1:43.50. Sophomore Tyler DeBerry earned a qualifying time in the 1650-yard freestyle with a time of 15:10.56.

For the women, junior Jessica Hayes posted a personal best (1:56.07) in the 200-yard backstroke, qualifying for the NCAA championships. Junior Emily Mason earned an automatic qualifying time for the NCAA championships in the 200-yard butterfly with a mark of 2:12.46. Freshman Whitney Myers posted an NCAA consideration time of 2:13.43 in the 200-yard butterfly.

In the second day of competition for the Arizona diving team, senior Daniela Bemme, freshman Mary Yarrison and sophomore John Collier qualified for the Texas Invitational diving finals. For the women, Bemme placed fourth on the one-meter with a score of 275.10 and Yarrison posted a mark of 264.50 to earn sixth-place honors on the one-meter. For the men, Collier finished sixth on the three-meter with a score of 469.65.

Arizona will resume competition on Friday, Jan. 9, 2004 when the Wildcats host Missouri, Purdue and Northern Arizona at the Hillenbrand Aquatic Center at 2 p.m.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder