Five Bruins Invited To adidas MLS Player Combine

Dec. 8, 2003

UCLA seniors Adolfo Gregorio, Leonard Griffin, Ty Maurin, Matt Taylor and Zach Wells have been invited to participate in the 2004 adidas MLS Player Combine, which will take place Jan. 11-13 at The Home Depot Center in Carson, CA.

The 54 college invitees, who will later be joined by select Project-40 players, have been divided into four squads for the three-day, round-robin tournament. Playing on the adidas Aveiro team are Wells and Griffin. Gregorio, Maurin and Taylor will play for adidas Supernova. UCLA has the most players participating in the combine.

UCLA has had the most players in MLS since the league's inception in 1997 and had 16 former players on opening day rosters in 2003. A total of 34 Bruins have been on MLS teams, and UCLA has had the No. 1 draft choice twice (1997- Tahj Jakins and 2000 - Steve Shak).

MLS general managers and members of all 10 coaching staffs will be in attendance to scout talent at the event leading up to the 2004 SuperDraft, which will be held on Friday, Jan. 16 at the Charlotte Convention Center.

Following is a team-by-team breakdown of the college players who have been selected for the 2004 adidas MLS Player Combine round-robin tournament (alternates will be called upon in the case a player is unable to attend due to injuries or national team call-ups). For the first time, collegiate coaches will assist in managing the squads during the course of the three-day competition. The names of the coaches and any player additions or alternate call-ups will be released at a later date.

adidas Aveiro
GOALKEEPER: Zach Wells (UCLA); DEFENDERS: Phil Hucles (William & Mary), Seth Stammler (Maryland), Leonard Griffin (UCLA); MIDFIELDERS: Adam Crew (Brown), Garthfield Whyte (Lynn University), Lindon Pecorelli (Connecticut), Jay Alberts (Yale), Luke Vercollone (Seton Hall), Andy Dorman (Boston University); FORWARDS: Alan Gordon (Oregon State), Kevin Ara (Harvard), Simon Francis Bird (Louisville)

adidas F50
GOALKEEPER: Troy Perkins (Evansville); DEFENDERS: Jason Perry (Oakland University), Kevin Wickart (St. Louis), Edwin Miranda (Cal State Northridge); MIDFIELDERS: Jack Cummings (South Carolina), Mario Alberto Gonzalez (Tulsa), John Pulido (Florida International), Marin Pusek (UAB), Scott Buete (Maryland), Angelo Joaquin Herrera (Maryland); FORWARDS: Aaron Paye (Fairleigh Dickinson), Joseph Ngwenya (Coastal Carolina), Kirk Harwat (Akron), Jamal Sutton (SW Missouri State)

adidas Predator Pulse
GOALKEEPER: Matt Pickens (SW Missouri State); DEFENDERS: David Wagenfuhr (Creighton), Nick Gannon (St. Louis), Chris Aloisi (Syracuse); MIDFIELDERS: Victor Guerrero (Cal State Dominguez Hills), Andrew Pusateri (St. Louis), Kevin Hudson (SMU), Sumed Ibrahim (Maryland), Eric Cronkrite (Portland), Tighe Dombrowski (Wisconsin - Milwaukee), Guillermo Memo Arzate (UC Santa Barbara); FORWARDS: Attilo Vendegh (Old Dominion), Jeremiah White (Wake Forest), Malcom Cephas (Virginia Commonwealth)

adidas Supernova
GOALKEEPER: Matthew Haefner (Pennsylvania); DEFENDERS: Josh Smith (Trinity University), Tony McManus (UAB), Gary Sullivan (Adelphi), Adrian Jonathan Cann (Louisville); MIDFIELDERS: Khari Stephenson (Williams College), Kenny Cutler (Clemson), Ty Maurin (UCLA), Adolfo Gregorio (UCLA), Joshua Gros (Rutgers); FORWARDS: Matt Taylor (UCLA), Justin Detter (Notre Dame), Steven Kehoe (Rio Grande University)

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder