Ryan Hall & Sara Bei Named Pac-10 Athletes Of The Year

Dec. 9, 2003

Walnut Creek, Ca. - Ryan Hall and Sara Bei, who played major roles in helping Stanford win the men's and women's NCAA titles in 2003, have been named the Pacific-10 Conference CrossCountry Athletes of the Year.

Hall, a junior from Big Bear Lake, Calif., paced the Stanford men to their second straight NCAA Championship crown, and fourth overall, with a second-place showing. He also took second at the NCAA West Region Championships. His second-place finish at the NCAA Championships was instrumental in the Cardinal collecting a team score of 24 points to easily outdistance the field by 150 points. It was the largest margin of victory in Championship history. The team score was the second-best showing in Championship history, trailing only the 17 points scored by UTEP in 1981.

Bei, a junior from Santa Rosa, Calif., took top honors at the Pac-10 Championship and then placed third at both the NCAA West Region and NCAA Championship. Her third-place finish helped cap a Stanford performance that witnessed the Cardinal winning both the men's and women's titles in the same year for the second time in school history. In fact, it's only happened three times in Championships history (Wisconsin 1985, and Stanford 1996, 2003).

Freshman Arianna Lambie, from Harvard, Mass., was named the Women's Cross Country Newcomer of the Year. Lambie, who finished third at the Pac-10 Championship - tops among all Pac-10 freshmen, was key in leading the Stanford women to its eighth straight Pac-10 title. She finished 23rd at the NCAA Championships as the Cardinal captured their second NCAA title.

Also announced were the Conference Coach of the Year honors. Andrew Gerard was named men's Coach of the Year, while Dena Evans was named women's Coach of the Year. Gerard captured the men's coaching honor in his first season at Stanford. The Cardinal men won their seventh Pac-10 title in the last eight years, easily outdistancing the field by a 68-point margin of victory. It was the largest margin of victory ever in the men's competition. The Cardinal also took first place at the NCAA West Regional and capped off the 2003 season with their fourth NCAA title.

Evans, also in her first season as head coach, earned Coach of the Year on the women's side. The Cardinal won their eighth consecutive Pac-10 title with a 56-point margin of victory over Arizona State, took the team title at the NCAA West Region and captured their second national title at the NCAA Championship.

The honors were decided by a vote of the Conference's cross country coaches.

2003 Pac-10 Cross Country Honors
Men's All Pac-10
First Team
Ian Dobson, Sr., Stanford
Chris Emme, Jr., Stanford
Grant Robison, Sr., Stanford
Donald Sage, Sr., Stanford
Robert Cheseret, Fr., Arizona
Jonah Maiyo, Jr., Arizona
Brett Holts, Sr., Oregon

Second Team
Seth Hejny, Sr., Stanford
Andrew Hill, Sr., Stanford
Adam Tenforde, Sr., Stanford
Eric Logsdon, Jr., Oregon
Eric Garner, Sr., Washington
Ryan Andrus, Jr., Oregon
Ian Johnson, Sr., Washington State

Athlete of the Year
Ryan Hall, Jr., Stanford

Coach of the Year
Andrew Gerard, Stanford

Women's All Pac-10
First Team

Sara Bei, Jr., Stanford
Alicia Craig, Jr., Stanford
Arianna Lambie, Fr., Stanford
Katy Trotter, Fr., Stanford
Amy Hastings, So., Arizona State
Magdalena Sandoval, Sr., Oregon
Valerie Flores, Sr., UCLA

Second Team
Amanda Trotter, Fr., Stanford
Iryna Vashchuk, So., USC
Ingvill Makestad, So., Washington
Anna Masinelli, So., Arizona State
Desiree Davila, Jr., Arizona State
Bridget Duffy, So., California
Ashley Caldwell, Fr., UCLA

Athlete of the Year
Sara Bei, Jr., Stanford

Newcomer of the Year
Arianna Lambie, Fr., Stanford

Coach of the Year
Dena Evans, Stanford

* - All-Conference teams determined by order of finish at the Pac-10 Championships.

The Pacific-10 Conference also announced the mens' and women's All-Academic teams. To be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average and be either a starter or significant contributor.

Selected to the first team was senior Adam Tenforde, who has a 3.88 gpa in Human Biology. Named to the second team were Neil Davis, Ian Dobson and Jeane Goff. Davis holds a 3.25 gpa in Public Policy; Dobson has a 3.23 gpa in Political Science while Goff holds a 3.38 gpa in Communication.

Named Honorable Mention were Sara Bei, Alicia Craig, Chris Emme, Jacob Gomez, Brett Gotcher, Seth Hejny, Yfa Kretzschmar, Louis Luchini, Jonathan Pierce, Grant Robison, Justin Romaniuk, and David Vidal.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder