Pete Carroll Named One Of Six Semifinalists For Eddie Robinson Coach Of The Year Award

Dec. 10, 2003

Trojan coach Pete Carroll has been named on of six semifinalists for the Eddie Robinson/FWAA Coach of the Year Award, the Football Writer's Association of America announced Wednesday.

Carroll, who has guided USC to its first No. 1 ranking in 22 years, joins Navy's Paul Johnson, Tulsa's Steve Kragthorpe, Texas Christian's Gary Patterson, LSU's Nick Saban and Oklahoma's Bob Stoops as semifinalists for the award.

In his last two years at USC, Carroll's squads have gone 22-3, with two Pac-10 titles and two berths in New Year's Day Bowls to their credit. This year's Trojan team is the first since 1981 to earn a No. 1 ranking in the polls, the first since 1972 to sit atop the polls heading into its bowl game and the first to play in a national championship game since 1978.

The winner of the Eddie Robinson Award will be announced on Jan. 8, 2004, in Phoenix.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder