Farrington Stadium Named 2003 Softball Field Of The Year

Dec. 12, 2003

TEMPE, Ariz. - Alberta B. Farrington Stadium of Arizona State University, Tempe, Arizona, earned the 2003 Sports Turf Managers Association (STMA) Softball Field of the Year Award in the College/University division. The award presentation will take place during the STMA Awards Banquet to be held on January 23, 2004, in San Diego, California, in conjunction with the Association's annual conference. This is the third major award bestowed on Farrington Stadium, earning NFCA/Turface Maintenance National Field of the Year honors in 2000 and 2002.

The state-of-the-art stadium, opened in April of 2000, is the home field for the nationally-ranked Arizona State Sun Devil softball team. It also hosts additional events during the year, including the 2003 State High School Championships, the Greek National Softball team practices in January and June of 2003, and the Women's Professional FastPitch League clinic and game in July of 2003.

Pete Wozniak, Facility Manager, and his Assistant, Mike Reno, coordinate the program. Wozniak says, 'The extremely hot weather in Arizona creates many challenges, but our entire staff's dedication, perseverance and innovative approach to those challenges takes our field management program to the highest level.'

The commitment to excellence in overall field quality, safety, playability and appearance earned ASU's Alberta B. Farrington Softball Stadium the Field of the Year honors. The Field of the Year Awards are presented for top maintenance of natural playing surfaces and support facilities in four major sports areas: baseball, softball, football and soccer.

The Field of the Year and Sports Complex of the Year Awards are the highest honor STMA bestows upon a facility. Entrants must supply information on the design of the facility, the uses of the facility that impact the playing surface, the organization of the maintenance program and innovative solutions used to overcome playing surface problems. Photos of specific areas of the field must be provided to document the playability and appearance of the playing surface.

Each of the five judges on the Awards Committee review the entrants independently, grading them on each aspect of the criteria. The results of the independent input of the five judges determine the winning field.

The Sports Turf Managers Association is the professional association for sports turf managers from around the world. From staying on top of the latest research in the industry to maintaining the best playing fields in the world, members possess the expertise and knowledge to be the leaders in their field.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder